DIY Truck sim button box

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last year I built a computer for the first time. This year, I built a button box from scratch - keys included!

IMG-2798.JPG

Since having a computer that can run more than notepad, I really got into Euro Truck sim 2 and American Truck sim. I bought a Logitech G29, but it wasn't enough. I needed something else.

So I went looking around the web for truck sim peripherals, and NOPE. I'm not paying USD$250 for one!
I did some digging to find out how to make my own controller.

Found a method to try out on the XSimulator community and got to reading.

After thinking I may be able to pull it off, I bought some components, did a [terrible] trial build, and now I can play my truck games properly.

If you've always wanted to give it a go, go for it. It is waaaaay cheaper and a lot of fun - once you figure out wiring and soldering :/

Pics of the build process.

IMG-2715.JPG
Everything finally arrived and is ready to go!

IMG-2761.JPG
Getting a feel for a layout.

IMG-2760.JPG
Yep, layout fits and - in my mind - makes sense.

IMG-2795.JPG
Cutting time - massive scratch on this one so I bought another box and did it again.

IMG-2798.JPG
Phew! It all fits properly.

IMG-2800.JPG
Wiring started - didn't take a final shot because I have shameful soldering skills, and no-one needs to see that :p

All in all it works great, and I am a very happy virtual trucker!

Take care steemians

Sort:  

Hay, you're back! New tag for us to use - check out #teamnz

Cheers @kiwideb!

I'll be sure to check out our cheeky corner of Steemit and use the tag from now on!

Hopefully i'll be able to be more consistent, and have better content, this year!

No time like the present, you could change one of the tags on this post. Maybe "blog"?

Good point. Done!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:38:22
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 16.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61