I am a teacher

in #life6 years ago

I am a teacher

I am a teacher.
I was born at the moment when a question arose from the mouth of a child.
I have been many people in many places.
I am socrates encouraging the youth of Athens to discover new ideas through the questions.
I am Anne Sullivan piercing the secrets of the universe to put them in the extended hand of Helen Keller.
I am Aesop and Hans Christian Anderser relieving the truth through innumerable narrations.
I am Marva Collins fighting for the right of all children to education.
I'm Mary McCleod Bethune building a great university for my town, using empty orange drawers as desks.
I am Bel Kaufman struggling to go against the current.
The names of those who practiced my profession have won the recognition of humanity ... Booker T.
Washigton, Buddha, Confucius, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Leo Nascaglia, Moses and Jesus.
I am also those whose names and faces have been forgotten for a long time, but whose lessons and character will always be remembered in the achievements of their students.
I have cried with joy at the weddings of former students, I have laughed with joy at the birth of their children, and I have remained with my head bowed by pain and confusion in the graves dug too soon for too many young bodies.
In the course of one day I have been asked to be an actor, friend, nurse and doctor, coach, lost property finder, moneylender, taxi driver, psychologist, surrogate father, salesman, politician, and defender of the faith.
Leaving aside maps, plans, formulas, verbs, stories and books, I have not really had anything to teach because my students have learned for themselves, and I know that the whole world is needed to tell you who you are.
I'm a paradox. I speak higher when I hear more. My biggest gifts are what I want to receive, gratefully, from my students.
Material wealth is not one of my goals, but I am a full-time treasure hunter, in my search for new opportunities for my students to use their talents, in my constant search for those talents that sometimes lie buried in self-defeating .
I am the luckiest of all those who work.
A doctor is allowed to bring a life in a magical moment. I am allowed to see that life reborn day by day with new questions, ideas and friendships.
An architect knows that if he constructs with care, his structure can remain for centuries. A teacher knows that if he builds with love and truth, what he builds will last forever.
I am a warrior who fights daily against the pressure of friends, negativity, fear, conformity, prejudice, ignorance and apathy.
But I have great allies: intelligence, curiosity, support from parents, individuality, creativity, faith, love and laughter, all of them help me raise my flag with its unsurpassed.
And to whom I have to thank this wonderful life that I am lucky enough to experience, but to you the public, the parents. Because they have granted me the great honor of entrusting me with their greatest contribution to eternity: Their children.
And in that way I have a past rich in memories. I have a challenging present full of adventures and entertainment, because I am allowed to use my days in the future.
I am a teacher ... And I thank God for that every day.

source

Happy Tuesday for all my friends from Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50