Off on a new adventure and a new career

in #life6 years ago

I am leaving tomorrow. Leaving my job as a barista at Starbucks to get my CDL (commercial drivers license). I am excited for this new opportunity. The hardest part of it will be not seeing my son for the next month and a half. But the reason why I'm doing this is for him. I need a better job with better pay so I can start to work on a better future for him.
My son is everything to me, he's the reason why I work so hard everyday. I cannot wait to see his smiling face again. But I am willing to make this sacrifice for him. I want to be able to build us a home to live in on some land that I am going to purchase. I love to got my own food and prepare gourmet meals fresh from the garden. So this is the first step in making that a possibility.
On the 18th of this month I turn 35. I will be in class learning all the finer points of safety and operation for driving a commercial truck. Totally worth it though. My last birthday I went to school and then worked all night. So it's not like I really look forward to or care about own birthday at this point in my life. It's just another day. But maybe next year I'll treat myself to something cool. Either way I plan on spending every one of my son's birthdays with him until he gets tired of me.
I quit smoking cigarettes for him and for me.
After I have my CDL for a year I plan on getting my crane operator certification and continuing to advance in my new career field. I am taking my tablet with me on the road so I hope to make some posts of my adventures along the way. I will definitely be drawing during down time and will post as much of my work as I can. Thanks for reading if you lasted this long through my otherwise boring post. Steem on Steemers!

Sort:  

Hey I just found your blog but good luck on your new adventure! Switching careers sounds rough, but I have heard that CDLs are in really high demand right now.

I've also taken a look at some of your artwork. Artwork is something I'm not very good at myself, so I'm happy to find so many talented artists sharing their work here on Steemit. Hopefully you'll keep posting it from the road!

Thanks for the encouragement, I appreciate it. It's a big step for me for sure but I think it will be worth it.

Hello, I wish you success in your new career. Happy birthday in adavnce!!

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts! +upvote

Congratulations @zacharyscottrose! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @zacharyscottrose! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @zacharyscottrose! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48