Quitting smoking for the one I love

in #life6 years ago

My son Zane Alexander Rose turned 3 years old on December 20th 2017. I decided on his birthday that its time to quit smoking once and for all. I've only been smoking for 6 months since the last time I had quit, which was 6 moths before he was born. So I was able to stop for the last three years more or less. It's just time to stop wasting my money and time on cigarettes.
I want to grow old and be able to keep up with my son as long as I can. As it is by the time he's eighteen I'll be fifty. So i'm going to need every bit of energy I can muster to keep up. I love my son more than anything and I've seen my own dad struggle with addiction like cigarettes and alcohol my entire life. It's not pretty later in life when you've abused your body to the point of no return. I don't want to be that when I get older. I want to age like Patrick Stewart.

patrick-stewart-2.jpg

So I vow from now on, to no longer make excuses for myself and my addictions. I'm going to do not only what is best for me, but what is best for my son. He deserves to see me live a long life. I want to be the mentor he needs to be successful and healthy throughout his lifetime. I want to be able to celebrate many birthdays with him as long as I can.

YioImltTQJyOlsoc4XKRQg.jpg

F4VATYBbQPCeNX+xVo64nQ.jpg

Much love everyone. Thanks for reading. Feel free to check out my artwork on my blog. I look forward to living a long life and Steeming it up for a very long time.

Sort:  

That is the best thing to do, there is no benefit of smoking and it only causes illness to our body.

Absolutely true. It's a waist for so many reasons. Better to invest time an money into things that pay off in the longterm and short-term.

very inspiring.

I quit 5 years ago, almost to this day and I don't regret it. It's the best thing you can do for your health, your wallet, your family... just about everything. If you've never heard of them, a 20-pay-life insurance policy is amazing. for children the monthly or yearly payment is peanuts, and after 20 years you no longer need to make payments, and at any time can take out a line of credit against the principle plus dividends of the policy. For a child, this means that by the time they are an adult they can have a $100,000 policy that is now worth double that, and get to go to university by taking out a line of credit against the policy, even before the 20 years is up. The younger you start, the cheaper it is and when your child is retired, that policy will be worth millions for them.

I'm definitely going to look into to one of those for my son. I've been trying like hell to save money for a college fund for him. I'm getting my CDL this year so that I can make more money than I am at my current job. So I am going to start investing in his future as well as get out of debt. Thanks for the the info I'm going to put it to good use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61