My journey from 295 pounds to 180 pounds

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0422.JPG
Hello I'm Zachary Boyd and I want to tell you something that I rarely share with people. I used to be fat.

From as far back as I can remember I've always been obese. I grew up seeing my sister, brother, and all of my friends thinner than me and I could never understand what I did to deserve to be that way. My siblings and a lot of the kids I grew up with constantly made fun of me calling me twinky, chubby, fatty, tits, and every other name you could possibly think of. For most people that would destroy them but I took what they said and used it as inspiration.

When I turned 16 I had asthma, I was borderline diabetic, obese, and generally hated the way I looked. So one day something snapped in me and I took charge.

I got online and started looking up diets and how to exercise properly. I looked up reviews to see what helped people the most so that I could be the person I've always wanted to be. Then I found it the diet that changed my life forever the Adkins diet.

I was obsessed after I started reading about it. Then it became my life. For the next 3 months I did nothing but eat hamburger, bacon, and cheese. By the end of that time which happened to be thanksgiving I weighed 220 pounds! I couldn't believe it and everyone was shocked by how much I lost. I started getting complements, people would tell me "Oh my god Zach you look so good now." and "Wow man if you loose anymore weight you're going to look weird." Since I was feeling so good about myself I took what they were saying to heart and went back to my old eatin habits except for sugary sodas and sweets.

Now a few months have passed and luckily I haven't gained anymore weight but I'm also not loosing it either. So get back to being horrified by the way I look and I hear those kids calling me names in my head again. So I get determined and I start my diet back up and start riding my bike everyday to everywhere I went then by the end of my high school career I was down to 200 pounds.

It's been years since then my weights gone up and it's gone down, but I've never given up. Today at 26 years old I'm healthier than I've ever been in my life at 180 pounds but I'm still not ready to quit. My goal weight is 170 and I'm determined to get there by the end of the year.

If you like my content please upvote, comment, resteem, and follow my page. Thank you!

Sort:  

Good progress bro, I did my weightloss from 310lbs to 170lbs high carb, well done for sticking in there despite no doubt craving carbs all the time!

How tall are you? If you're over 6 feet, 180 lbs surely sounds reasonable. Personally, I can't even imagine growing fat. I eat all I want without being cautious and I'm thinner than you. You know the diet you took is not considered very healthy?

I'm 5'10 170 pounds is a healthy weight for my height. Also that depends on what study you read. Some say it's bad for you some swear it's one of the healthiest things you can do for your body. I just know it works for me.

Congratulations @zboyd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I congratulate you! Both you and your wife are attractive no wonder you have lovely children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63