You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Fashion: How to reduce your outdoor clothing carbon footprint

in #life6 years ago

Man sometimes it feels like I am waging a losing battle. I am cheap and HATE creating landfill. My wife barely notices when trash is made and is a suburbanite who buys and throws away and rebuys.

With the growing kids, we try and hand me down to other family members or drop off at the local clothing bank. I have patch kits and tool kits and wear my shoes way too long.

One enjoyable part of this habit is I buy premium stuff when I have to buy it so that it will last.

Great advice and food for thought though as we try and create less waste and consume unnecessarily.

Sort:  

I know how you feel mate. It can be difficult to keep motivated when you see others not caring as much.

However, I think it's important to remember that every small good thing you do does have an impact. I'm also noticing a wider change in outlook. Here in the UK, there are groups all over the place that do regular beach and river clean-ups - it's great to see.

Keep up the great work man. 👍

Oh yah!

There is a group here that helps refugees settle in our small town and start a life. That group organizes themselves and go around cleaning up litter in parks and public areas. They are so happy to be here that picking up litter is as enjoyable as a walk by the river.

Hopefully I am getting better and better at reusing and underbuying.

That's awesome - faith in humanity restored. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85