A TABOO topic, shhh...

in #life6 years ago
Have you ever wondered why are some topics considered taboos and have you noticed that different people have different things that they consider a taboo? In this article, I will try to go into the depth of this social construct and try to deconstruct it until I get to its very roots. Since I will be mentioning and talking about some things that you might find in the taboo category, like menstruation, sex, masturbation and various others, I did think about a #nsfw tag, but then again since there won't be any actual pictures of those (disappointed a little?) and this will be more of a psychological post, I think you are safe. Ready to talk about some taboo things? Here we go... :)

What is a taboo anyway?

According to almost every dictionary available to man, a taboo topic of conversations is that one which is considered improper or unacceptable, forbidden even. There are things that are considered a taboo in one country or religion and not in the other. A taboo can be a behaviour or a conversation, I will stick to the conversational taboos here and how we avoid talking about some things. To be perfectly clear, I am not judging those people that have taboos nor is this post a way to discredit your beliefs. You should always be happy and satisfied and if talking about some things gets in your way of that, fine, but let's see why that is. Why are you, or anybody else, uncomfortable about masturbation, your urination, mental health or your religious practice?

"We exist in this weirdly schizo culture, where sex is everywhere in the media, and yet, at the same time, you don't sit down and have a conversation about what you did in bed last night with your friends. Despite the ubiquity of sex, it's still a taboo when it comes to day-to-day conversation."
Mary Roach

There are those topics, that I've mentioned already, that are almost generally referred to as taboos but you can have taboos of your own. I have heard, and know, of some people who approach their eating habits, music preferences and even philosophy as things that they do not talk about with anybody. They will not say those subjects are taboos, but private. What is private and why do we have the need to keep some things private? Not every need for privacy is taboo, but there are two reasons for privacy and I personally think that one of those approaches is good and the other is bad.

There is a normal need to keep some things private as a way to keep them special and unique to only one person or a group of people. We have a tendency to assert bigger value to relationships that are different than others regarding the sharing of our thoughts and emotions. There are feelings and opinions that we will discuss only with a partner or a friend and establish a personal bond with that person. Whatever those things are for you, they are perfectly fine as long as your need to keep them private is rooted in your need for a unique bond. Something that only two of you will share and in that way make it your own. On the other hand, people keep some things private out of fear. There is a general belief that we will be ridiculed or rejected by the society. There is a fear of what others will think of us.

“Whenever a taboo is broken, something good happens, something vitalizing. Taboos, after all, are only hangovers, the product of diseased minds, you might say, of fearsome people who hadn't the courage to live and who under the guise of morality and religion have imposed these things upon us.”
Henry Miller

What are your taboos and why?

Do you masturbate regularly? Are you comfortable enough to answer me in the comments? If you are uncomfortable with this subject is it because it is none of my business or because you think I will judge you if I do not approve of your answer? Is my opinion that important anyway? Is anybody's opinion that important to you that you will stop yourself from discussing certain topics and diminish your chances of learning new things and hearing about different opinions and experiences?

After a lot of thinking, doing research and talking with a lot of people, I have come to the conclusion that taboo subjects are rooted in our insecurities. What will they think of me? is a question that often pops into our mind before we share our opinions on taboo topics. Will people think that I am a pervert if I masturbate every day? Will they look at me with disgust if I, as a woman, confess that I enjoy sex? How many of them will never talk to me if I say that I am bisexual and how many of them will look away when they see me, after knowing that I used to have a mental illness? What if I, as a man, enjoy wearing female dresses? Will they laugh at me? Those are questions that some people ask themselves on a daily basis, those and much more.

I am not implying that you are not normal if you keep some things to yourself or that you must talk about everything with everyone but I do hope that you have at least one person in your life with whom you can share everything. It can be your partner or a close friend. Talking about things will allow you to get a new perspective and open your horizons a bit. Your moral code will not be affected if you open yourself to others. You have nothing to be ashamed of.

I don't have taboos, but I respect that others do

I have always believed that diversity is a majestic thing. We are all different and unique with our own lives and opinions. We are all special. I do not believe in one general truth or the one correct way of living. What is good for me doesn't have to be good for you. It goes for our eating habits, sexual preferences, religious practices, life philosophies and even taboos. I value my opinion but I respect yours too. It was always strange for me to hear others preaching that this or that is the only way. That is why I try to be considerate of other peoples opinions and beliefs. Even though I myself am an open person and do not have taboo topics, I can not imagine myself imposing that lifestyle on others. Why would I? This is the reason why I listen more than I talk.

"I like talking about things that are taboo, because it makes them not taboo anymore."
Sarah Silverman

Oh Sarah, you get me :) I did say that I listen more than I talk and there is a good reason for that. You can learn a lot about people if you stay quiet and let them talk. The less you talk, the more you will get to know about them. When I do talk, I talk about everything and have no taboos, but I rarely do that without an invitation. I will answer every question and I am happy to talk about things that make me happy but I will never impose myself on others if they don't ask for it. The best way to get to know me is to directly ask me the thing that you are interested in. If you do not do that, I will probably be quiet and listen to you talk about yourself, and I will enjoy it. Maybe sprinkling some happy fairy dust on you will make you happier and more open and maybe it will even have an impact on me and get me to talk about something without being asked, let's find out...

There are things that are strange for me to consider a taboo. Menstruation and sex are one of them. I could never understand people who are ashamed to buy tampons or condoms in a store. Why? Do you know that you wouldn't be alive if there was no menstruation? It is a normal process in a female body, beautiful even. Why are some people uncomfortable with that? Not only men, there are women who don't talk about it too and not because they think it is something private but because it is something we should not talk about. Why shouldn't we? And why shouldn't we talk about sex? Why are we so ashamed of our sexuality? I personally think that my need for orgasms has the same value and importance as do my needs for food, water and sleep. Those are major things that a healthy human being should have on a regular basis in order to feel happy, healthy and satisfied with his or hers life. Why are we then happy to exchange are food recipes and culinary abilities but are shy regarding our sexual experiences? I have yet to find the answer to that question. It is one of those funny and curious things about humans that amazes me.

Do you have taboos? Are you ashamed of talking about some things and do you consider yourself an open or a closed person? Let me know in the comments. Keep your smile on and be satisfied with yourself and your life. You are special and unique. You are loved.


Unsourced images are under CC0 License and are free for personal and commercial use. You can find them on pexels.com

For more of mine "Philosophy of happiness" posts, please follow these links:

Sort:  

Did you notice that @awakentolife followed up you talking about this post with "I'm coming"?

Phrasing ...

LOL

lol that was an "unfortunate" and perfect timing to follow her post. lolol

I did notice it and it was hilarious :D I could not stop laughing for a while :)

quite interesting insight, I confess I am sort of prudish when it comes to talk about intimate things in public, I'm overall open and extrovert but I keep certain topics private. I don't judge others for talking about them. There is one topic that I admit causes me discomfort and is money, I think more than a taboo is a childhood trauma, never had much, and I underwent poverty, and I suffered poverty shame, so I'm afraid of it. But more than a taboo I'd say I fear it and that's why it makes me feel uncomfortable.

As long as you have at least one person to talk, you are fine :)
Poverty shame can get you into a wrong vibration when it comes to money, I do hope you let go of your fear. Good luck 💚

Yes. I masturbate regularly.

Does that answer the rest of the questions? It's something I think about regularly, too.

Why is it ok to question some things and not others? It seems I always have somebody pissed at me because I ask questions.

I don't often volunteer much. I will tell you anything if you ask, but don't try to convince you of anything. My way is strictly my path.

Thanks for another terrific post. I truly do like your writing and questions.

Yes, your one answer is THE answer to every question that I made :D
Thank you for your comment, it is such a fresh thing to read 💚

i'm with you, I throw taboos out the window, lol! As far as I see it, if it exists then people should be able to talk about it!

For me personally, sure there are some things I hate talking about, but it's because of the personal struggles that I had/have with the topic - which I actually go out of my way to exit my comfort zone and be real/vulnerable with people whom I deem to be trustworthy and who I know won't somehow use it against me. Because let's be honest - there are jerks who will do that in this world.

But taboo for the sake of taboo? pish! Let's break through our insecurities together :3

I totally agree with you! If it exists, we should discuss it. Good luck with your inner demons and stepping out of your comfort zone. You will find that it was a boring place to be anyway ;)

Very thought-provoking. It makes me wonder - why do we have these taboos? And the more I think about it, the more taboos I think of! @yidneth's comment reminded me that money can indeed be a huge taboo subject when it's in short supply. Why is this? Clearly it's a sign of the value that our society puts on money.
I also think about a bizarre phobia-type fear that I've had since childhood, that I've been trying to psych myself up to talk to my mother about for ages! It's the type of fear that I'm unlikely to encounter in life, yet I can't discuss it with anyone. Maybe it's because I once confessed it to a friend, when I was about 10, and she laughed at me. I must discuss it with Mum! Psychology certainly is a fascinating subject!

Yes, it is. I am glad you enjoyed the post and that it made you think about these things. Good for you! 💚
Thank you for your lovely comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Petra (zen-art) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It is great to see the differences among cultures. Somewhere it is considered as taboo, while on the other side of the world is totally normal and socially acceptable. Taboo I think is only in our pattern. And I have learned more you have taboos, more you are missing fun in life :)

Yeah, it is interesting how some things are different regarding to where we are located. Ah, diversity, such a lovely thing :)

and it's calling them taboos that makes them taboos

Yes, I agree that has something to do with it too :)

I really like how you put on ur perspective on how you see this topic. It does related strongly to social beliefs and the way of life a particular group of people/ community. Being someone who have mingled in a vast range of different group of people from the south east asia region to europe, thought me that theres so much different perspectives a single thing can be seen. Thanks for sharing! :)

I know Asia and Europe have big differences concerning taboo topics :) Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

I would say I am a closed person not sharing only with people that are close to me but I would say that I am open minded I don't judge people except they are hypocrites :D

I used to hate only hate and judge only judgers, but then I quit that too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97