What happens to orphans in Cambodia when they are no longer 'cute children', worthy of tourists donations?

in #life8 years ago

What happens to orphans in Cambodia when they are no longer 'cute children', worthy of tourists donations?

What happens to them AFTER a childhood spent in an orphanage?

Who cares for them then?

Who helps to prepare them to stand on their own two feet and fend for themselves?

Good questions that not many tourists think about. (and not too many of the NGO and aid organisations either to be honest!)

Two things happened to me today.

  1. I had lunch and..
  2. I was INSPIRED!

The road at the side of our guesthouse is called Sok San Street For a long time, guests have asked us to recommend good places to eat.. I am always on the lookout for decent places that offer great food and great service also to our guests.. I do not subscribe to the 'commissions economy' where you only recommend places that offer you the best commissions and not the best service for your guests..

I usually recommend one of two good restaurants on Sok San Street as I know they DO provide good food and they are very local for our guests here at the Villa.

For the past few weeks, I have watched a new place taking shape on this road without any real idea what it is

Today, curiosity got the better of me and I went in to investigate.

I found a really smart, stylish restaurant that has been painstakingly built using fixtures/fittings and supplies all sourced locally

But even more amazingly, I found a real HAVEN here in Siem Reap Cambodia..

A Haven for adult orphans who have to leave their orphanages and have nowhere to go They provide them with accommodation, food, medical treatment and perhaps MORE importantly.. work and training in a REAL working gastronomy! After all, it's easy to give someone a place to stay, food and medicine but what about their FUTURE? What about helping them to stand on their own two feet, better trained and equipped to function in the REAL world of work?

But okay. So much for the 'theory' what about the 'practice'?

I loved the idea, but I really cannot recommend a place to my guests if it's service is rubbish along with the food

Only one way to find out. I decided to sit down and order!

I needen't have worried They did me (and themselves) PROUD! The food was wonderful. If this is what they are doing there, then they are giving these kids a WORLD-CLASS training that will stand them in good stead for the rest of their lives

I will not hesitate to recommend this place to our guests After all, what's NOT to recommend? Having a great meal, with superb service AND knowing you are really helping others..

Sort:  

this is inspiring, your recommendations now will help to keep this open and helping the young adults.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67