You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 41 of my attempt to stop smoking with Champix - A full week now without tobacco :-) I am now a non-smoker

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Champix is the best (though I do hear there is a similar drug available for less on the Internet these days). Those vivid dreams!

It's great that you have chosen to quit though obviously not the circumstances necessitating it and I wish you all the best. I had a quick look at your blog and opened up your day 13 post. With that also going on, of course you were right to take the cigarette option - hell, I wouldn't really even include those days in your quit. If you need a count, I'd start from the very last cigarette.

I quit Friday 13th October last year and easily did until spring. Then I had a controlled relapse as I wanted to lose weight and I felt it could help lower my appetite / convince the girlfriend that I had to cut down on fancy foods.

Other than that, I've had no other issues, really (I smoked for 25 years - cigs / rollies / spliff and more than the odd bong / bucket).

I have to say I have had many attempts with champix, largely doing the 3 month period and hitting weed a little too early / heavily once I thought I could possibly get away with it. But as I had several attempts, I managed to stockpile the drug and wean myself off nicotine at much reduced rates.

First week or so, as prescribed. Then a table every two days. Then, one every three, every four, every five, every six and then once a week. And that was the three months taken care of. I didn't religiously count the days, I just had a rough idea by a slight increase in recognisable stress levels. If I was feeling a little pissed (for no real reason), I'd make sure to take a tablet the next day.

The only drawback to this wonder drug (and I'm sure you've heard all this before off others / your doc in particular) are the links with people taking their own lives.

I've suffered depression before but one of the (many) causal factors had to be the fact that I couldn't quit smoking whilst dearly wanting to. And I think a lot of people will be in that boat. Concerned about their health and damned stressed about it but so heavily drawn to the transitory comfort a cigarette would bring.

But when the champix works, you wake with the joys of spring in your head, so to speak.

Keep it up and will you get fitter and fitter.

Just be sure to stay away from smokers especially the inconsiderate ones who would gain strength from seeing you struggle / fail.

I've tried a lot of NRT therapies which didn't really work. Champix - which of course doesn't actually contain nicotine so is hardly NRT - is by far the easiest quit.

And should you ever relapse, just never give up trying to quit. You will get there eventually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88