The Plan Now Written in Rough Draft

in #lifegoals7 years ago (edited)

At this precise moment in time, my life's target is to experience the kind of relief expressed in the following image from Breaking Bad, after Walter White killed all the neo-Nazis.

Breaking Bad Gif

From this point on, my Steemit account will document all the various ways I'll attempt to achieve this aim. Also other articles and such that I find interesting, if I'm being honest, but I'm definitely planning to use this blog as a means of holding myself accountable.

First: establish income in dollars from remote work and from learning how to succeed with crypto-currency trading.
Second: develop career in (freelance?) writing--on Steemit and other platforms--to produce a modest literary reputation.
Third: Get the fuck out of my hometown.

Oh, but it requires such a long-term plan, which in turn means developing perseverance, which is a skill with which I haven't typically much faculty. (See previous blog posts for evidence.) I'm in a masters degree program now: a professionally-oriented master of science in scientific and technical communication. I chose the field for the average income of associated jobs, expected growth in the number of positions requiring these skills, and the likelihood that I could perform this work remotely; and, besides that, a general feeling that, as much as I'd like an immediate proletarian revolution, I should hedge my bets that the current economic structure will maintain its hegemony for at a least a few more decades.

So, I'm a prisoner in my own hometown, with nothing to blame besides my own actions. I could split from the masters program in December with a post-bacc certificate in technical communication, but where do I go from there? I'll bankrupt myself from the tuition for that semester (bureaucratic restrictions meaning predatory student loans won't become available to me until January without a 100% markup in the cost of each fall credit), and then have no resources for the desired escape.

Oh, the Catch-22 of my own design: deferring my desire's fulfillment because deferring it makes it easier to imagine its actual fulfillment. Perhaps, of course, I'm suffering from a poverty of imagination. Still, what's to do from here? Persevere, persevere; and document my progress. That's what I'm deciding this profile is for now. That, and sharing whatever dope shit I come across.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69837.94
ETH 3620.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20