Life Hack - Saving Some Real Coin

in #lifehack6 years ago

I'm going to stray away from my typical topics today to share with you my greatest "sticking it to the Man" moment.

I live in an apartment building that was built in the 70s. As far as I can tell, the coin operated laundry machines are original. One day, management decided to raise the washer from $1.50 to $1.75 without any notice. I was pretty upset. That adds up pretty quick when you take jiu-jitsu and you have to wash your gi 2-3 times a week. So I retaliated thusly.

This was a little over a year ago. At the time, I was working for a company that sells fasteners (nuts, bolts, screws, etc.). It turns out that a 7/16" SAE flat washer is roughly the same size of a quarter. For me, a bag of 25 of them cost me between $0.30 and $0.50 depending on the grade of steel. Do the math.

Now it turns out that this little trick doesn't work on every machine. I happened to get lucky and pick this one first. Out of the 8 washing machines, it only works on 2 of them. It also doesn't work on the dryers, but I hang dry my gis anyway. You also have to be aware of variances in thickness though. I've come across some that are either too thick or too thin.

So my message to management is simple. Justify that price increase by upgrading our machines!

Sort:  

Hahah that sounds like a french roommate I once had. The newer pennies were rather soft (when we had pennies) and he used to cut the edge off them using heavy scissors and use them as subway tokens.

I said that defacing currency and ripping off a municipal corporation might land him in a little trouble. "Ah" he said, "Fuck zem!"

Way to stick it to the man!

I guess it's true. Everything does sound more elegant in French!

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71