You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lifehacks for the Mind | Part 5: The Rubber Band Analogy

in #lifehacks6 years ago

Pain and suffering are part of our life. Even animals are not free from it. These things make us stronger and instigate a feeling of resilience in us. But when pain and suffering become an inseparable part of life: when life becomes a hell owing to these things, we begin to lose hope. In that situation it becomes very difficult to get rid of feelings of Depression and dejection. Hence, excess of everything is bad.
However, in some religions like Jainism self mortification is a part of monks life. They torture themselves. Even in Christianity it is acceptable. Fasts of Hindus and Muslim are same thing.
But the difference between self mortification and forced suffering is conspicuous. One is done to satisfy own ego while other can even make a person devoid of self esteem.
Thank you my friend for this great article. I have expressed my feelings here. I typed this on my phone. If there is any mistake, please ignore that.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your view with us!
Suffering is often used as some kind of permission to "have earned" higher states of awareness, mainly because we have this deep dogma inside our conditioning that says nothing comes for free and everyone is guilty until he has paid off his inborn dues.

I never was a fan of original sin, but if types of that help people attain higher states, why not?

The thing about depression is that while being depressed all these angles seem mundane and pointless. So I tend to write reminders for myself on the best days, reading them in my own handwriting on the worst days. and I instantly remember: It will be better again <3

Much love my friend!

Thank you dear!

The thing about depression is that while being depressed all these angles seem mundane and pointless. So I tend to write reminders for myself on the best days, reading them in my own handwriting on the worst days. and I instantly remember: It will be better again

Your strategy is very effective. Nothing is permanent in this world. After bad time, good time also come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77