My One-liner Life Mantra: “Just because you are struggling does not mean you are failing.“

in #lifemantra6 years ago (edited)

4073A5A3-CD3B-49B2-8D15-E1098703D930.jpeg


“Just because you are struggling does not mean you are failing.”


Life was never easy for my family. My parents had to work hard to send me and my siblings to school. Everyday was a struggle. When I was still studying, my goal was to graduate college on time and give my family a more comfortable life.

I remember promising my parents that our situation would be better once I graduate. I was confident that I will find a good job with high pay in no time. I was excited to get into the real world and succeed. I've always thought that it was going to be easy because on my mind, finishing college was the real challenge.

Of course, I was wrong

I realized how hard it is to get a decent job by the time I was looking for one. I rejected jobs that I didn't like and I was rejected by the jobs I actually want. I was unemployed for two whole months. When I finally got an offer in a town near our home, I accepted it even if the rate was the provincial minimum. Afterall, it was better than nothing.

I stayed in that company for two years until I felt that I wasn’t growing anymore. The pay never increased much but the benefits were good. I earned enough to help my family survive daily, but not enough to prepare for the future. I then tried looking for greener pastures. When I was offered an opportunity in the Metro, I grabbed it right away. The salary was higher and the work seemed more challenging. I thought that maybe THIS IS IT!

But again, I was wrong

That new job gave me the hardest time. For a reason I never figured out, my manager dislikes me (he wasn't the one who interviewed and hired me). The job wasn't what I expected. The "bigger" salary all went to paying taxes, rent and commute. I had no savings. I had little to give my parents. One of my sisters had to stop schooling to work instead. It was so stressful, I even lost weight. After the four long months, I decided to quit.

A month of unemployment and a number of failed applications after, I finally got a new job with a higher salary. With this, I was certain that I'd be able to save and help my parents more. Desperate to start, I didn't bother to test waters and just quickly dived in.

Only on my first day did I realize I was the only Filipino in the office. It was a new and small company with only four people including the owner. They speak their native language most of the time and only speak English when talking to me directly. I felt like a foreigner in my own country. The culture differences were also hard to comprehend. I was being "rude" and offensive without knowing it. Moreover, my government contributions were never paid. There's no system. No definite job description. No regularity. I wasn’t allowed to do anything unless they say so. It felt like I didn’t have my own mind and I was just there to follow orders. It was definitely not something I would want for long-term.

I had thoughts of resigning since my third month. But where would I go? What would I do? I can’t make quitting a habit. At least not too soon.

Now, I’ve stayed in that company for a total of 15 months. And it ends there. I don’t know if I’d regret this but I can’t take it anymore. It was a sudden decision but a firm one. I didn’t even had a back up plan when I filed my resignation days ago.

In two weeks, I will again be unemployed


It has been four years after my graduation, but I still haven’t given my parents what I promised.


I was struggling since then, and I am still struggling now.

Whenever I see some of my batch mates having great jobs in big companies, buying cars, building their own house, pursuing post-graduate studies and granting their parents grand vacations, I can't help but ask myself,

Am I a failure?

9C5AE5AF-4CCF-4F26-9C45-F3DB4662BC48.jpeg

This mantra was shared by a friend who came accross my facebook feed just in time as I was dwelling on my so-called failures.

And it was right!

Every success requires some kind of struggle to get there.

Also, I got inspired and researched some great success stories that did not come overnight. Have you heard of these?

B17A258E-70B5-4BA7-87A0-655FDDFCDB07.jpeg
4BB0EBD9-FB8B-43A9-9446-541DD6B65CF4.jpeg
EC22270F-CE27-4D6C-A948-AC03B3026591.jpeg
70B3E4D7-6D4B-4928-8AD6-C2A608F7954E.jpeg

I am just 23 years old! How could I even think I was already a failure? I am still young and fresh with a lot of experience! And the struggles only add up to it! I may still not find my dream job soon but at least I’ll be free from something that is far from it. And I’ll have more time for Steemit! :) I know that someday, if not soon, I’d be able to fulfill my promise to my parents.

In God’s perfect time.



I’ve also applied this mantra on my steemit journey as I was only making cents on my posts. I almost gave up and thought that steemit is not for me. But I didn’t. I kept trying hard and put more effort on my blogs. My recent blogs are now earning more! Some were even feautured by @teardrops , @poeticsnakes and @steemph.manila! (Again and again, thank you guys!)

I know I’m not the only one who is experiencing such, so for everybody who is struggling right now,
Repeat after me:

“Just because you are struggling does not mean you are failing.”

Keep believing and good things will happen.

Thanks for reading!

(All photos are from google)


I nominate my fellow redfish @chrisvee to join this One Liner Life Mantra Contest by @mermaidvampire.
Click here for more info about this awesome contest!

-C1D6-43CD-B699-C90216ED3C2D.jpeg

Kindly vote and support @surpassinggoogle by typing in @steemgigs as your witness on the first search box here.

If you want him to make witness voting decisions on your behalf, click here and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box for proxy.

1AC6DE7F-8DD4-42CB-9731-667DCB4A1A82.jpeg

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

C0B54C48-2213-487B-9DB1-EF4661F5F16F.jpeg

8CA877C7-E755-4A52-B77F-64C55908DB76.jpeg

41CC22A5-6257-4C9E-8B3B-A0C87BEE45AE.jpeg

Sort:  

First. :) NEVER GIVE UP. NEVER SURRENDER!! :p

Right! you only lose when you give up. :)

I am the judge of @mermaidvampire's Life Mantra contest and this is a great mantra.

It is true that until you give up, you can't fail. This shows that you must persevere, and I can see you are doing so. Keep going, you will find your happy place.

Thanks for the entry,

Have a nice day ~ @cadawg [Judge]

youre lucky your posts are always featured :) I like this post because I could relate myself. Life is full of mystery thats why sometimes I think of giving it all to Him.

Thank you! Yes I, agree. When you give it all to Him, everything just falls into place. :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Never fail to see how blessed you are despite your challenges. I'm glad to read your story, this is really inspiring. Thanks for joining. Stay positive and continue to see the glass half full then half empty. Keep Steemin' and keep inspiring!

Thank you @mermaidvampire. Your contest has given me the opportunity to share my story. I never knew I could be that "madrama." Hehe. Looking forward to more contests like this! God bless and more power!

Kaya yan kay! AJA lang lagi! Wag mag jelly sa mga ka batchmates mo kasi baka nag go through lots of struggles din sila.. may kanya kanyang time ang tayo kung kailan tayo mag bobloom.. minsan yun iba nauna na sa pag bloom..minsan din late.. pero di nag mamatter kung nauna or na late. Ang importante strong tayo tsaka continue lang ang faith natin kay Lord. Im sure ginagawa pa ni lord ang napaka bonggang life chapter mo. Kaya natagalan 😉

Gusto ko life mantra mo.. remember ko yan lagi 😊

just because you are struggling doesn't mean you are failing

Feeling ko kasi ate malapit na ako mag asawa kaya kelangan ko na maging stable! Haha. You're right ate, in God's perfect timing, everything will fall into place.

AJA!

See you soonest :)

I love your mantra, struggling is good, it keeps the knife sharp. What better way to improve, to struggle. Easy are for the common people, the winners, the champions, we struggle.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ohkaaay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

If your tired. Learn to rest, not to quit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68