You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Cleo and Gunner Aftermath

in #lifestory6 years ago

Two things, except for the 'overall' story, jump out for me:

Your mother almost collapsing and you, the injured one, having to be the most 'cool' in the whole situation and explaining her what to do when and how. That's truly something and it reminds me of the day I was stitched because I got a stick in my head and my mother came in (she wasn't there when it happened) for support and the doctor had to ask her 'are you okay?', while I was getting needles in my head every other second :')

1,5 hours to get to a hospital :-/ You'd drive out of my country if you were driving for 1,5 hours :')

Gosh Tom, I'm impressed by your story and I'm so glad you shared it <3 It's beautiful in a way that only can be achieved with a sad story.

Sort:  

Late in life Mark Twain wrote some amazing works about being what you are. In his example, some men will go into a burning house to save a puppy while others will watch and think that's the goofiest behavior they have ever seen. Both are right, there is no wrong, just being what they are.

I've always been cool under pressure. I just am.

We really were remote. Probably why I like that so today. There was a 6 room hospital in the little town where I went to school with the two GPs in town as medical staff. But the nearest real facilities were 90 miles away. I found out later that the GP had started the process to fly me to Seattle and University Hospital there when he realized that the best 'eye guy' west of the Mississippi was in Spokane.

And that teeny hospital? Saved my life at least once and maybe 3 times. There's more to the story. I'll get to it.

Thanks Soyrosa. I always appreciate your comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82