My Love And Hate Relationship With My Dentist

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

If there is a place I would like to avoid no matter what, that's for sure a dental office or a dental clinic. Accordingly, my love (if we can even speak about love) for dentists are at the lowest possible level as well.

I can't say that I genuinely hate them as I am somewhat handicapped when it comes to that hate feeling. In fact, I don't know how to hate. I can be angry like hell about something, but it would pass, and it's never that deep dark feeling, opposite from love and full of destruction. Even I sometimes use that "hate" word it's not the real hate.

Dentist OfficePhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to oswaldoruiz for office-dentist, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

However, last Thursday was that day I wanted to avoid no matter what but I couldn't. I had the appointment with my dentist, and it wouldn't be fair either sweet just to ignore it and not to show up. It was only another one in the long row of appointments in the last month or even two.

In other words, in that past period, I was visiting the dental clinic regularly every week at least once. What can I say, it seems like I manage to cultivate a lovely graveyard in my mouth. 😜

Usually, everything is more or less OK, until I come to the door and see that chair. You wouldn't believe how many jokes and stories I can pull out (who knows where from) just to drag the attention of my dentist and not to sit on that chair. Unfortunately, ever joke and story have its end despite my efforts to stretch and postpone it as much as it's possible.

Dentist's BorersPhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to rhein28 for dentist-instruments, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

But sooner or later I end up on that chair and then arrives the next nightmare. I see only that to the chair strangely attached movable arm or leg with that crazy device full of all sorts of borers. My dear Lord! 😱

The worst part is I'm very well aware how all those dentists for some to me unknown reason are crazy and deeply in love with that device and those borers. I don't know do they experience some ecstasy when they stick it in your mouth, but they are doing it so passionately.

Of course, they are not going to grab it the very moment you start drowning in that chair. There is a very profound procedure before that dramatic moment.

Dentist's LampPhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to jarmoluk for dentist-equipment, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

As first, they are going to lace up around your neck that special dentist bib. I always feel semi-suffocated with it. Then, they are going to turn on that lamp that looks to me more like some concentration camp's searchlight and point it directly to your face.

They don't find any problem with using it. And maybe it's only me. I don't know. Maybe other people see that lamp as a stage reflector, so they could finally somewhat experience that feeling of being on the Broadway's theater scene.

I'm obviously not that type, or maybe I should take into consideration to observe it from that angle although I don't think it would be a success.

At the Dentist OfficePhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to rgerber for dental-repairs, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Just about the time when you would start hoping there would be at least one more preparation stage, the dentist is going to ambush you. They would quickly stick into your mouth the pump in the form of a question mark upper part of the hanger (allegedly only for saliva collection) and a whole bunch of tampons (as well and supposedly for the same purpose).

In that lovely pose, with the wide-open mouth of some hungry lion most in-depth roaring, when you are not able to swallow anymore and breathe only through your nose, the main drama is just about to start.

Dental RepairsPhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to ales_kartal for dentist-grind, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I'm really getting suspicious every time more and more that those dentists must experience some ecstasy while doing that as I can't otherwise explain to myself that devil dance over my teeth of exchanged puttering, poking, picking, grinding, drilling, boring, scouring, rubbing, scrubbing, etc. inside my mouth.

And somewhere there is my culmination point when my relationship with my dentist is closest to hate.

divider

But why I love my dentist despite all of above said?

Woman DentistPhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to marcioandrei for dentist-child, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

At first, she is our friend and a genuinely warm, compassionate, and at the same time funny and very cheerful human being. As a dentist, she is gentle, precise and fast. I never set on that chair longer than half an hour. Besides, each her patient may always choose from special hypnosis to injection what would make the whole procedure entirely painless.

Above all, I admire her because of her honesty. She wouldn't have a second thought to admit that she is the greatest dentist hater (despite the fact of being the one), and the biggest chicken when she has to sit on the dentist chair.

Because all of that the relationship that I have with my dentist sometimes remind me of the song "The Thin Line Between Love And Hate," although I don't believe she would ever by any of her patients end up like the guy in that The Pretender's song.

divider

P.S.

Just for precautionary reasons!

Little Girl Brushing TeethPhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to confidentdentalcare for best-dentist, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

If you are anything like me when the dentists are in question, as first...

Don't forget to brush your teeth!

Better be safe than sorry! 😉
But even if you are brushing your teeth regularly, don't avoid dentists for years (as I did) to end up with some different kind of graveyard in your mouth. If nothing else, however you turn it around, it's cheaper to fix it sooner than later, and above all...

The people around you need your beautiful and unique smile!

Beautiful Woman's SmilePhoto source: Pixabay. Credits to longislandbeautiful for cosmetic-dentist, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.


Posted on Sunday, January 28, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges


My Witness Recommendation

Vote @adsactly for witness - open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign
Or give a direct vote here
Thank you!

Sort:  

I have also a toothache for 2 days and so scared to book an appointment with dentist.

I would like to encourage you to do so and book your appointment! You'll feel much better afterward! Keep in mind that you are dealing with part of your head, very close to your brain. It's really not worth the risk if I can tell you that as one scared of dentist person to another!

Aw gawd I hate going to the dentist lol

LOL - Yeah, I thought, I wouldn't be alone! 😉🙂

i am avoiding dentist since last 4 years and have been living with three decayed teeth. just hate them.

I understand you perfectly, but I would still like to encourage you at least for one checking visit.
I had to learn the hard way that when the tooth starts hearting it might even be too late, as sometimes the process inside can start and we wouldn't feel any alarming signs until it progresses the way we don't like it at the end.

awwww. what a sweet narative about love hate relationship with dentist. seems most post these days have a love undertone like the one i sent on why i love steemit and steemians.
do you know banana peels are also excellent for teeth whitening and health? do you know about organic eggshells powder which can keep dentists away forever, updated a lot on same topics.
nice one as always dear. upped

Thank you very much for your kind words! 🙂

It seems I missed your post about why you love Steemit and Steemians, but I already compensate that (although I didn't leave a comment there).

To be honest, I didn't hear by now how banana and organic eggshells powder might be helpful for our teeth. I just remember when our dogs were puppies I was giving them organic eggshells powder mixed inside their food because of calcium to naturally support the healthy growth of their bones.
If you have already written about those topics, I would appreciate if you don't mind to drop me here the links to those posts as I would really like to read it.

Sure. Just scroll down and find the banana pill for the organic eggshell I will find it cos it's from last year post. Will update more next week on waste to health . Let's keep steeming hot.

Thanks! I'll take a look!
And please, when you find that post for the organic eggshell powder, please drop me a link! (I will not downvote your comment! 😉 I'm kindly asking for that link!)

Great post i really like it a lot, i cannot stand going to the dentist and it's something i fear truly. I really like your post so please keep on posting! I hope you have a great day!

Thank you very much! 🙂
It's kinda easier for me to accept my next visit to the dentist, seeing such comments that prove I'm not the only one with that, between love and hate, split feeling for dentists. 😉🙂

@ana-maria as a person who had and continues to have a lot of encounters with dentists i cannot agree more with you! There is no place that i hate as mich as that chair! But come to think of it i am most thankfull to my dentist because everyone knows how a bad tooth hurts! I also love and hate my dentist! Thank you a lot for this post and for making me smile!

hahaha - As you may see (read) exactly the same here! I'm glad that I made you smile with my post. 🙂
When I was writting this post, I thought many would be able to relate to my "Love and Hate relationship with my dentist."

However, thank you very much for stopping by and for such a nice comment! 🙂

I feel this way towards my dentist too. I absolutely hate the feeling, but love them for picking the job and being willing to do it. I am also happy to keep my teeth clean.

hahaha - Exactly the same here! I'm glad I'm not alone on this one! 🙂

I totally agree with your point of view. I feel totally identify. Great article.

Thank you very much! 🙂

Hehe great post ana @ :DI Always wanted to ask Dentist !: I have that weird habit, it's like biting nails, but instead I'm always nibbling away small pieces of skin from the inner part of my mouth/cheek/lips. Is that.. uhm, apart from looking like a complete fool when doing that. hehe jokes apart really great post. @ana-maria looking forward for more :D

It seems like we all have some issues with our mouth and teeth especially when the dentists are in question. 😉
However, thank you very much for stopping by and for the comment! 🙂

The only thing i learned in my school days...there was a poem...and it says goin to a dentist is a vicious circle... @ana-maria but we need to visit to take care of our tooth...👍

hahaha - Yeah, it really seems like a vicious circle. Never heard that expression connected to dentists, but I like it! And I agree with you entirely we should seriously take care of our teeth.
My fear that dragged me through that way too long neglecting period when it comes to regular visiting the dentist, didn't turn out very well for me. I can confirm that now from the first-hand experience. Unfortunately!
If nothing, it would cost me fewer dentist visits and a lot less pain (not to mention the expense). 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94