MY RANDOM PONDERING THOUGHTS , FEELINGS & DISCOVERIES DURING LOCKDOWN

in #lifestyle4 years ago

pexels-photo-248280.jpg

South Africa is currently on stage 4 of the National Lockdown, similar to stage 5 with minor adjustments and a curfew...

Whoever thought that we would be spending weeks on end at home and trips to the grocery store would be the biggest event of the week. As a result of the pandemic, we have found ourselves adjusting to a new reality.


This has led to some thoughts and feelings running through my mind while being at home..........

The simple thing like that used to SO normal – like a dinner at a crowded restaurant, working or grabbing a coffee from a busy cafe.

Cleaning seems endless and laundry- as well as making excuses to not sort out the Chair wardrobe/Floordrobe ‘’ The art of piling clothes on a chair to be used in place of a closet or dresser. If a chair is not available one can always defer to a floordrobe’’ (Urban Dictionary).

Forgetting what day of the week it is has become normal. I've worked on both public holidays not realizing that it was a public holiday until I picked up that no one was replying to my emails….

‘’`I Finally have time to try out all these cool recipes, but tonight I will have a simple pasta - But tomorrow I will definitely try something new’’

''Wow, I use to spend a lot of money on Takeouts and Flatwhites '' also me .. '' I can't wait till we can order from UberEats again ''

‘’ Why does it feel like the 100th time that I did the dishes today?!’’

‘’ I will be way more productive tomorrow ! ‘’

‘’ I should paint the kitchen, that should be a fun project ‘’

Cooking, candles, and baking at midnight have become my therapy.

Exercise has gone out the window – I’ve been watching fitness workouts online while eating chocolate and promising myself I would start exercising tomorrow.

I have always thought of myself as more of an introvert who is happy in their own company, turns out I miss seeing and talking to people face-to-face and I miss the smiles of others.

I have realized what kitchen essentials utensils and tools I don't own, like a corkscrew ( needless to say, I struggled to open a bottle of wine the other day).

Referring to the above, day drinking seems to be socially acceptable now. #notcomplaining 😜
Missing family and friends terribly - even the ones I found annoying and the ones with a dry sense of humor.

Working from home in PJs was exciting in the beginning, now I feel the longer I keep my PJs on the less work I get done -Getting dressed in regular clothing is a whole mood changer as well as washing your hair.

Quick trips to the grocery store are something I look forward to.


These thoughts above are obviously mundane ( or ''FWPS '') , a luxury at times when there are people out there performing essential services, those who have lost there jobs /income and are struggling and I do understand that there is a crisis going on and I am saddened by all those who are affected.
.

However, perhaps you have also had similar pondering thoughts or feelings ( or is it just me? )

If you haven’t? then kudos to you, you are handling lockdown way better than I am👏
What have your pondering thoughts and feelings been lately?
Discovered anything new about yourself?

Much love

Chelsea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99