The Power Of Choice, Is It Really Good?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #lifestyle6 years ago

Reflected on the concept of choice this morning.

How many of you have problems making simple decisions on a daily basis?

Limit your options. It will make life easier!

More doesn't mean better. It adds complexity, in situations that are not even meant to be complex.

Headspace Meditation

I remember when there used to be one kind of jeans, the only-fit-type of jeans. Today you go to a store and they have 20 types: slim fit, normal fit, slim waist / normal fit (whatever that is) and many others.

Same when choosing a flavor of your favorite food or drink.

As a consumer, having more choices actually makes it more difficult for you to buy something.

What if you don't like the one you bought? Then the burden is on you, you must have chosen wrong.

Then you go again and purchase the next flavor, because one of them should be good right!?

This reminds me of Dan Ariely's and his course on irrational behavior. If you are not familiar with Dan's work I highly encourage you to find it out.

Will close this post by linking to a must-watch documentary on Netflix, "Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things"
http://www.netflix.com/title/80114460

Greetings!

Sort:  

This is exactly why I grocery shop at Aldi: their limited options! Will have to check out the documentary!

Another favorite Dan of mine is Dan Gilbert - I love his work in positive psychology. If I remember correctly, Malcom Gladwell has some remarks on the paradox of choice in one of his books as well. Also, have you seen this Barry Schwartz's talk ?

I just googled that store, if it's limited in options then I need to find something like that here in Stockholm. I don't know about Dan Gilbert but I am familiar with Malcom Gladwell and Barry Schwartz. His talk on TED is great, I was actually having it in mind when I wrote this, going to watch it again :D

The more options we have the easier it gets to regret about the decision we made even if it was a good decision. Boom. Let that one sink :)

You will definitely enjoy the documentary on minimalism then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62