Meet My "Twin"

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

I've lived in a few different places throughout various stages of my life: born and raised in Texas --> college in Upstate New York --> back to Texas for Occupational Therapy grad school --> Bay Area for a new adventure --> currently Southern California because apparently I've been suckered by the West Coast into staying for the past few years.

Realizations I've had from moving around while reflecting more on this process:

  1. Don't take family for granted
  2. Cherish the friendships that have survived time and distance
  3. Any relationship (platonic/family/love) takes work and effort from both parties.

Pretty simple ideas yeah?

Until life gets in the way and somehow the execution doesn't follow through.

One person who has been there despite all of "life" happening has been my little sister. And by little I mean 3 years younger but 2 inches taller and a decade wiser :p We often do get asked if we are twins (and may or may not often go along with it). Admittedly we haven't always been as close as we are today but as the miles increase between us, I think we have both learned to prioritize quality time together.

Sister Time at Color Factory from Kat on Vimeo.

I've appreciated exploring much of California's fun interactive events with her like this day at the Color Factory in San Francisco. I'll let the video speak for itself but the best way to explain this magical fun land is an adult playground. So many textures, colors, and patterns to appeal to your senses. Multi-sensory experiences are crucial during childhood development, but I forget that adults continue to benefit from the same experiences. This day was definitely amazing in every way and reminded me how stimulating being a kid can be. It was inspiring to get a taste of so many brilliant artistic minds collaborating to create one of the happiest spaces I've encountered. Photo and videography cred to her (IG handle: @hellopandreaa).

IMG_1275.JPG

IMG_1321.JPG

IMG_1305.JPG

Umbrella.JPG

IMG_1166.JPG


Closing question: Who is your person who has been there as "life happens?"

Sort:  

is very nick your post,i love,and resteem your poast.

Thank you very much! I appreciate that.

The photos and video look so fun, Kat! :) I would've mistaken you and your sister as twins also! Haha. You guys are cute.

To answer the closing question, 2 people come to mind: my sister and my boyfriend! :) They've seen my ups and downs yet they still roll through life with me. So lucky to have these 2 gems in my life :)

Thank you for your sweet words! Sounds like you have a blessed life and no doubt it's a reflection how you treat your loved ones as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75