You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Short days, colourful skies

in #lifestyle5 years ago (edited)

Sounds good @abh12345 ...

"... there will be a fair amount of business analysis involved in the work ..."

... as that is what I was involved in at the end of my career. Given how challenging (in a good way) I found it, it left me wishing I had done that type of work my whole career. Oh, wait a minute. That type of work didn't even exist back then! 😉

Seriously, having the opportunity to attend the 2017 and 2018 international conferences, I believe it has a very bright future. I hope you find it similarly rewarding.

As for the "Chief to Indian ratio," that could well be a problem. I'm sure you'll figure it out ...

#sbi-skip

Sort:  

That type of work didn't even exist back then!

I'm not sure when 'then' was but i'd say 10-15 years ago was prior to the BA role, and with business interlinked so much with IT these days, I think these people can play an integral role.

I guess the too many Chiefs thing isn't directly my problem, and the business will hopefully figure it out - I can drop my 2 cents in though and see what happens.

Thanks for stopping by, have a good week :)

"Then" ... My post-graduate career began in 1978, ~ the year you were born @abh12345 ... 😏

You may find interest in checking into the International Institute of Business Analysis which was started in Canada in 2003. They have chapters all over the world now.

Their BABOK Guide is an impressive resource to have at your fingertips, as you get into this line of work. They also have a wealth of other resources, if you choose to explore it further ...

#sbi-skip

Can you pop by and make me feel younger more often Rob :)

2003, makes sense when I think about the University. I'll get this link sent to my work email to browse through tomorrow, thanks!

Haha @abh12345

”Can you pop by and make me feel younger more often …”

… that brought a big smile. If only it was as easy as writing a few words every now and then … 😊

If it helps (have to read all of what I say here … 😉) you in looking forward, I found passing the 30 yr. old “milepost” pretty painless, but … Turning 40? Wow, tough time in my life …

However, life goes on and our perspective on what “it is all about” deepens. Subsequently, crossing over being on the “wrong side” of 50 wasn’t really a problem at all. Ditto the “wrong side” of 60 …

Life is what we make of it. Just recently joking with family and friends about being in “the golden oldie club” now, I have begun to refer to my wife and I as “being in the infancy” of our old age. So, while I might not make to my pillow tonight, actuarially speaking, we could have another 25 – 30 years in front of us. We’ll make the most of it …

Good to “talk” with you. Until “next time,” take care! 👍

#sbi-skip

Strange how the numbers affect people differently. I struggled with 30 a lot but was much more accepting of 40. I hope by 50 and 60 that I won’t care at all, and then it’ll soon be time to ride the shopmobilty scooter around the supermarket 😁

Thanks again for the background reading and pep talk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67497.36
ETH 3532.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19