A Beacon of Hope

Widows Walk1.jpg

The Guiding Light!


Walk anywhere in this town and there are thousands of reminders of its strong heritage in Maritime History. From Piers, to Docks. From boats, sails and tackle, to fishing gear, and supplies. This Town is built on the sea and built for the sea. I love it. All of it. Someday, I'll build my dreem house and it will have a Widow's Walk. This architectural feature was built in Ship's Captain's homes. It earned it's name for the women they married who would walk around up there, waiting, searching for their husbands, on or about their return to port dates.
Wives who walked up there, searching everyday for months and years later, were often the widows of Captains who went down and were lost at sea.

A Beacon of Hope for the mariners returning!


I have always been drawn to lighthouses. Growing up around them... trusting my life to the light to get home safely.


Be Merry. Do good. Don't be an JackAss.

Photos by Bluefin Studios

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d7000, 92mm, f8, 1/250th sec, Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop

thealliance_468x60.jpg

Small Welcome Wagon.png

bluefinstudios_red.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

hehehehe dreemhouse :)

I have always loved them too. I have a really cool picture of a lighthouse that I had for years. and there is an image superimposed on it - that i NEVER saw. FOR YEARS

everyone else saw it!!!! hahahahaha and one day - I just happened to walk past it - and the lighting was right and i FREAKED OUT.

My daughter was like WHAT WHAT WHAT!?!?! I said - oh my gosh!!!! do you see that?!?!?!?!

She said.. ummmm yes. I've always seen it. I thought that's why you bought the picture! LOL

But my eyes were SO focused on the lighthouse I didn't see ANYTHING else! hahahahahaha I think I'm the only one who never saw it until then. Kinda freaked me out LOL

My guest room is a haven of lighthouses. hehehe I really love them. Something so special about them.

You might not like this song hahahaha cuz it's country! LOL but it's one of my favorites. sad. but talented musicians!!!

It's told from the perspective of the lighthouse. Let me know if you can bypass the country enough to enjoy the words hehehe I think that lighthouse in the video is the one in Maine???

Yep! Maine it is!

Here's my post on Nubble Light and how it went horribly wrong for me, shooting there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87