Sort:  

I just read yours after I saw this comment. I enjoyed your examples of how to understand and not judge someone. I do have mixed feelings about your early childhood. I have a hard time hearing about cults who get things twisted and hurt people. I know I have to forgive and ask others to do the same, but I can't take away the pain it caused you, only God can do that. If the experienced ruined your faith I am sorry, but God will by his very nature always be there if you choose to start over with him. I'm sure I'm not the first to say that. And, don't take this as evangelism lol I'm just trying to be compassionate :)

As far as the message goes, the morality of it is inarguable and is indeed valuable and beneficial for any religious affiliation or lack there of :)

Thanks.

Growing up in the cult didn’t make me lose my faith. I was religious for 3-4 years after I left it. Still a believer almost 6 years after I left. My easiest explanation for this, (I’ve had the same thing said to me many times) is pretty simple. The same thing that led me to leave the cult led me to where I am now.

I have an ever curious mind and spent a decade or more learning everything I could about every religion out there. That journey led me to science and atheism. This made the most sense to me and left me feeling the best. It’s ultimately what has stuck.

I went the opposite direction. Science is what I have come to learn simply observation of a universe that was obviously created, and created by something higher.

While I was an agnostic athiest, I was always looking for more. A meaning for everything and a purpose in life. An identity I could have that wasn't what other people labeled me as. I wanted to seek truth, not just an objective fact of an observed mechanical function of some minute part of the universe, but an overarching guiding force that made everything.

Obviously I had questions. Those questions were answered by Christ, and I find myself taking it more seriously than some. It's led me to a better life and while I will always try to evangelize, it's not something to be forced.

All this being said, I am glad you have found something that gives you what you want :) idk if this platform has direct messaging, but I'd be open to hearing more :)

Sounds like a similar path. Just a different outcome.

I would love to chat more. Are you on discord? Steemit chat doesn’t always work for me.

Honestly, I LOVE a good religious debate or just good discussion on these topics. I have all kinds of questions for you too. 😊

Overall, I think it’s important that we both found what we think we were looking for. I think that’s what ultimately brings peace and happiness in life.

My username is the same as my steemit name in both chats.

I am not on discord, I don't really play video games anymore, so I just use Facebook, and WhatsApp to talk to people other than text and call.

I haven't seen the Steem chat though. Just joined Monday. Is there a way we can use the chat?

Yes, search my user name. It's the same as here. My chat doesn't always work but it seems to enough to get into it on occasion. I may need to try using a different browser.

Well, steem chat doesn't seem to work for me either.

Seeing as how everyone on here uses discord, I downloaded it. What's your discord name?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91