→ Why I’d Never Do a TED Talk

in #link6 years ago

To go along with my previous post on TED talks, here is Julie Bindel explaining why she would never do one.

The rehearsed smugness of the presenters puts me off the content – which is all about making the simple sound profound.

and

The talks are so rehearsed that even the well-placed pauses and casual hair flicks look hideously false. TED bots strut around the stage, posing, delivering well-crafted smiles and frowns. It’s like amateur dramatics for would-be intellectuals.

and

Many of the speakers state the blatantly obvious on a loop, sounding as though they have discovered the theory of relativity all over again. The pretentious gestures, rehearsed pauses and speech traits single them out from other public speakers. They appear to have learned the art of making the simplest ideas appear complex.

I agree and I disagree. As I said in my previous post, I like TED talks, but I do dislike the over-rehearsed nature of every presenter that makes them all sound and look exactly the same—like Steve Jobs clones. Granted, he was an amazing presenter, but that doesn't mean everyone else needs to sound exactly like him.

As to the over-rehearsed nature of the gig.

Those invited to be potential TED talkers are required to attend several auditions, and, if they are one of the chosen few, a number of rehearsals before they are deemed ready.

Sounds fun.

LINK: Why I’d never do a TED talk (and it’s not just because they’re named after a man)

Link Blog

Back when I had my own website, I used to post a few random links everyday or every few days, in the style of http://kottke.org or http://daringfireball.net. Readers seemed to enjoy seeing them.

To signify a link post, I'll put an arrow (→) at the beginning of the title to show you guys it is a link post and that you can skip it if such things don't interest you.

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/resteem. Also, consider buying me a beer.

BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025

Thank you :)

Sort:  

My nerves would probably get the best of me.
I have enjoyed some TED talks. Don't listen to the ones you don't like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69