Free Steem for the correct commandssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #linux6 years ago

Hello Steemit!! I am Looking for help with a mint update and giving a steem bounty of 1.0 steem for the correct commands.

1521959701467.jpg

I was running an update using the following command for linux (62.0+linuxmint4+sylvia) .. At the end a message popped up as follows..

Warning: No support for locale: en_US.utf8

Can anybody walk me through the commands to fix this problem?

Screenshot from 2018-09-12 20-51-08.png

Don't forget to spread the word that Jesus loves you :D !

image.png

#namaste

Sort:  

Most issues can be solved by searching online. Linux users are pretty good about posting solutions. Here is a screenshot of a search I did about your problem. The first article had a solution that would remove the warning. It is from 2014, but it might still be relevant.
image.png

Personally I would ignore the warning if it is not affecting the character set you are using.

I don't think that is a fatal error. It is simply a warning that you don't have support for en_US.utf8. In fact I think I get the same warning everytime I update.

You can pretty safely ignore it.

Here is some technical jargon describing what en_US.utf8 is all about. If you don't notice any issues with the display of characters, then you probably don't have an issue.

https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E19455-01/806-0169/6j9hsml3j/index.html

I'm running Linux Mint Rosa 17.3 (LTS). How long have you been using linux?

Do you know about this?

image.png

The error message seems self-explanatory. Apt could not connect with your repository, as configured, and threw out an error message explaining so. The fact that it is trying to connect to packages.domain.com makes me think that the repository source file was changed, without editor knowing how to do so. The entry.. packages.domain.com is a generic placeholder that should have been replaced with the actual URL of the repository.

Did you edit your sources yourself?

As for the 'No support for locale: en_US.utf8', as I said in my last reply it is a pretty common warning that I have safely ignored and never found the necessity to fix.

Yeah... I may have on accident, so basically i need to edit the source file agqin and replace pa ckages.domain.com with...?

That I can't tell you. I don't know what your goal was. Without knowing what your end goal is, I'm just shooting in the dark.

You could comment out that line by placing a # symbol in front of it. That would stop it from being processed until you can work out what you were trying to achieve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01