Reinstalling Arch Linux Part II - Getting a GUI

in #linux6 years ago

Alright, so as I said in my last post, Arch Linux is that oddball that does not come with a graphical user interface upon installation - heck, it does not even have support for Wi-Fi out of the box (you need to install some wireless support package for it). The Live ISO has everything for you to do the installation as painless as possible, but it doesn't care about a thing after you have done it - catch that?

Sometimes I question myself - do I really need a GUI? I mean - it's Linux. I can do most of the stuff I need with just a console - from doing Google searches to writing code and watching videos. It is just a little too powerful, in a good way.

But.

It's 2018, and everything is on the web. HTML5 is mandatory (Steemit is also an HTML5 app, not to mention Grammarly which I use every single day to check my Steemit posts). While we can browse the web with text-based browsers like Lynx (my favourite), it's kinda impossible for me to live with something like this forever...

20180509_010806.jpg

I can't even access Steemit with this thing. It does not support JavaScript.

So, time to make my life a little easier.


ALL HAIL THE ARCH WIKI

Seriously, it's a lifesaver. Not only for Arch Linux. If you are using some other Linux distribution and run into some strange issues or is finding some solutions to some of your needs, there's a 99% chance that the Arch Wiki has it. Bonus points if you are using DuckDuckGo as your search engine - just type !archwiki <some search term> and enjoy.

I can actually say that installing a GUI is not hard - it's still that "read the guide and follow it" kind of thing. But still, choosing a GUI is hard, because the wiki won't tell you which GUI is the best - can't blame it, it's always a user choice. How to make it worse - there are dozens of choices to choose from. How to make it insanely worse - I have issues choosing between things. Yes, you may slap me now.

Choices are sometimes obvious anyways, I won't go for GNOME, it's just too heavy for my 4GB RAM. Even Mate is a little too heavy for me. I thought of XFCE, but I don't really have nice memories with it - it does not feel so responsive when I last tried it. LXDE is abandoned and became LXQT, and I don't really like QT when I use more GTK apps. Plus, I am looking for something extremely lightweight. Someone told me that using a sole window manager is a good choice (yes, we can live without a full desktop environment), and I have a good list of them - Openbox, Compiz, i3, and a lot more. After some thinking, I decided that I love keyboard shortcuts more. i3 is the perfect one here. It is a tiling window manager, works perfectly even if you don't have a mouse (since it fully relies on keyboard shortcuts), and is hella lightweight and fast. The funny part is I once said that I don't like i3 because it is a tiling window manager, but thinking of it, it does not feel that bad...at least it makes the desktop organized automatically.

Okay, so what I need to make the thing running? Obviously, the i3 package and the X server. Installing them isn't hard, it's just a few packages like i3, xorg-server, xorg-xinit, etc. Instructions to configure them are also on the Arch Wiki, so I got them in no time. Within a few moments (yea, it took a few moments to install them because everyone was watching election results at live yesterday night. It was an amazing night anyway), I got them correct and typed startx into the terminal and see how it looks like.

20180509_011058.jpg

i3 by default looks horrible. I'm not even joking. If you don't have a manual with you, there is a 101% chance that you will have absolutely no idea what to do with it, because it does have any buttons, no menus, and it can just show you a bar and cursor. Perfectly explains why it is that lightweight.

Yes, it should look horrible, but when I last tried it with Debian, I didn't see something like this.

20180509_012351.jpg

I expected some text. At least readable text. REEEEEE.

Whatever, it's some blank boxes, meaning that I am missing some fonts...what to install? Sincerely, I expected them to be installed together with some Xorg package. Apparently not.

So, what's wrong? I dug some information on the net for some Xorg font package that I was missing. Apparently these packages are called xfonts-100dpi or xfonts-75dpi on Ubuntu. Doing a search in the Arch Linux Package Repository gave me xorg-fonts-100dpi and xorg-fonts-75dpi instead. Not a very big headache, I installed it and started X again. There we go, some readable text!

20180509_012548.jpg

Despite that it is not very helpful at all. It's okay, I don't use the i3 bar anyway, gonna replace it with something else later. I'll just leave it there for the meantime.

Alright, there goes 2 hours of my sleep...took a little longer than I expected. Still way to go, I haven't even got myself a GUI web browser and a huge number of utilities I need...expect something about it in the near future.

See you next time,

--Lilacse

Sort:  

Sometimes I question myself - do I really need a GUI? I mean - it's Linux.

The answer in this lies in what your intended use of the Linux install is for. If you are running a simple file server that you SSH into, then I don't see the need for a GUI, but of course, if you are " doing Google searches to writing code and watching videos", probably yes..

Bonus points if you are using DuckDuckGo as your search engine - just type !archwiki < some search term > and enjoy.

Great information!!

Choices are sometimes obvious anyways, I won't go for GNOME, it's just too heavy for my 4GB RAM.

Back to my thoughts on a swap file. I wonder if this may help your issues with RAM?

Nice tutorial, I am going to use this as a reference when I start my Arch journey. Thanks @lilacse

Just saying, but I can indeed do Google searches, write code, and watch videos without a GUI :) the only thing that really needs a GUI is a modern web browser, an office suite, video/audio/image editing, and games (even certain games don't need a GUI). So you know how powerful the Linux terminal is now.

If you used DuckDuckGo for a long time, then you will know how crazily good it is in saving your time... these shortcuts are called bangs. You can go to search for a list of them and be amazed on how much it can do. I never click on Wikipedia links because this thing redirects me to Wikipedia automatically with the shortcut !w :)

Well...yea, swap file would help, with a hit in performance. Ubuntu was used to do so on my old laptop which has only 512MB of RAM. I still wonder how I used that laptop anyway :P

So you know how powerful the Linux terminal is now.

That is amazing, I did not know you could do Google searches without a GUI.. Writing code, and watching videos seems logical enough to be able to do without the GUI. I am just trying to imagine a Google search done via command line.. I actually just have too many questions to list about this, and I will research it to get my answers since it is total noob related.

If you used DuckDuckGo for a long time, then you will know how crazily good it is in saving your time... these shortcuts are called bangs. You can go to search for a list of them and be amazed on how much it can do

I am amazed! I didn't know this, and I have been using duckduckgo for more years than I can remember!

I still wonder how I used that laptop anyway :P

It's so nostalgic thinking back the the "old" computers we used. My first computer boasted a 10 meg hard drive. That's the only spec I actually remember about it. I really wish I knew just how much RAM it had. I mean.. 10 meg hard drive... Admittedly this may have been 10 meg "free space", but it was so long ago it's hard to remember with any clear certainty.

10 Megs...wow...seriously. The first computers I know have at least 128MB of RAM and are running at least Windows 95. 10 Megs sounded like some DOS or Linux system, it's kinda impossible to fit any version of Windows into it. Except for Windows 3.1 or something like that...probably. Probably :P

Yep, that's what I call the post-DuckDuckGo syndrome, sometimes in the school library I also type !wolfram <some math equation here> hoping that I can get my results instantly...nope. So I decided to be lazy and live on the edge by having a portable Firefox in a pendrive. It has all my settings (and, ahem, saved passwords) so it feels home no matter where I go :D

Man, those nostalgic days...those days when I was still playing Pinball because I have no clue how Minesweeper works, playing a very own Paint mini game (aka using the bucket tool to fill up the whole screen, switch to the eraser tool, and start to erase everything to make it white again, then repeat), etc. Fun is so easy back in those days, being a kid is so good :)

Yeah I believe it may have been 10 megs of free space.

Firefox on a pendrive? Does this entail a live OS to run it off of?

The old pinball game! I love it!! I might have to download it just because!! haha

https://portableapps.com

Embrace the magic :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82