Uber now accepts Litecoin (but NOT Bitcoin!)

in #litecoin7 years ago (edited)

Today, Litecoin has had a massive win. For the first time, a major company has chosen to accept only LTC. That's right. They don't support Bitcoin and have no plans whatsoever to add support.

UPDATE: The source may be fake news. If anyone in the Czech Republic can confirm if Uber is supporting LTC or not, that'd be great. (supposedly they have an email [email protected] if someone wants to ask them)

It's a great day for LTC, when companies choose Litecoin over Bitcoin.

Note: At the current point in time, this is a trial run in the Czech Republic, it's not available in countries such as the UK and US. If the Czech trial goes well, they may roll it out to the rest of the world.

Here is Uber's response to "will you accept BTC?"

No, unfortunately, we do not want to clog the user application and will only support Litecoin for now. It has been selected because it supports SegWit, has fast transactions with low fees and it’s development team shows integrity. We are also keen to leverage the upcoming features they are adding, such as Lightning Network.

In my own products, I'm encouraging the use of Litecoin for similar reasons. Bitcoin is slow, has high fees, and the development teams are constantly at war with each other.

Here's what Litecoin has to offer:

  • Extremely low fees. Average fee is just 0.001 LTC (that's just $0.02 compared to Bitcoin's average of $10)
  • Segregated Witness (Segwit), proudly voted in by the miners, not UASF
  • Lightning network (Bitcoin won't get this for many months, since they still can't decide on segwit)
  • A brilliant developer team
  • Widely support by various wallets, and many merchant providers such as CoinPayments
  • A thriving economy. Litecoin is supported by almost every major exchange, including Poloniex, Kraken, Coinbase, Litecoinlocal, GDAX, and many more.

While STEEM/SBD also has brilliant features, Litecoin already has a big adoption, and is much more supported as it uses the same core as Bitcoin.

Source: http://ico.newsbtc.com/gigant-Uber-accepting-Litecoin/


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Sort:  

I would like to point out that I am unfollowing you based on you not removing this article and still keeping the rewards. Very disappointing from somebody I expect to lead by example.

I wasn't aware I could even change the awards after posting, or remove the article, thus why I just added the rather big disclaimer stating it might be fake.

I have just forfeited the rewards of roughly 100 USD to the EFF (protecting our privacy charity). I had no intention of keeping the rewards from a fake news article.

This is a good response, thank you!

WOW you gave 0.0427 BTC is $244 now as of October 25th 2017 Wow hah

AND you already got $25 back basically from the rewards on this comment for doing the right thing LL and yeah its not fair of the other user to accuse u of like "keeping" the rewards, its not like theres a button you can click to "reject" rewards after the fact, yiuc an only choose to decline rewards Before you post an article MAYBE iun busy.org theyll have some feature in teh future where you could I dunno, burn the steem sending it to null? lol i dunno its like, yah you did teh right thing, we could have also accepted donating steem to some steemit user like @cryptopie he has been through a Lot and is a great User and story for Steemit as his condition is probably one of the more painful things you can ever have more or less a sort of face tumor but not from cancer, and he has to go through dialisis and hes got just this really rough story BUT from what I can tell Steemit helps his mental state just lke it does for me and many other people and the idea of earning money from social media is probobly really good therapy

There are Tv shows where they show how fat people will lose tremendous weight if Money is involved, even Drug Addicts can be made to Kick and withdrawal on drugs in exchange for money, and its

How did we you find this old post? lol

I searched for "Uber accepts Bitcoin" and this was on Googles first page results at the bottom, i find steemit articles LAL the time when searchin crypto related stuff! Steemit is the BEST source now for crypto news it seems!

No way! That's what I typed too lol Awesome :)

I flagged this because it is incredibly misleading. Uber did not start accepting LTC. An extremely mall subsidiary of Uber in the Czech Republic made an announcement about LTC. You're a good enough Steemian that I follow you and have supported dozens of your posts. So I know you are better than this. Misleading articles give Steem a bad name.

I have also flagged it! I was attracted to the article by its title only to be disappointed to see that it was not accurate.

I also know a lot about Uber and I am certain that this is not a beta for rolling out LTC to other geographies. This is a one off, if it even fully materializes.

I don't think it's misleading, Uber is obviously a massive company, and would much rather test the waters in a small country.

Example: Steam (the game service), originally only allowed Bitcoin in the US. Now they rolled it out to the rest of the world.

Just because it's only in the Czech Republic, does not mean that Uber has absolutely no plans to roll out to the rest of the world if it's successful. I've adjusted my article to make this more clear.

Read the source again. It's by an author with no articles, a Twitter account with no followers, and there is no actual Uber site mentioning this. Now reread the title of your source. Does the use of "Gigant" make it seem credible or reliable? This is probably fake news. Being critical of your sources is a key crypto skill -- always independently verify what you can and take nothing for granted.

I've updated my post to warn of fake news. It could be simply that the writer is from Czech and has poor english skills. NewsBTC had often been a reliable news source, sadly not so sure about this one.

Now it's pretty clear that this is fake news. https://www.reddit.com/r/litecoin/comments/6g5lve/uber_accepting_litecoin_in_czech_republic_newsbtc/

My point above is that you are a leader of this community and you've now made $300 by sharing something that was fake news but fake news that people (LTC hodlers) wanted to hear. What you do next is up to you. Good luck.

If it is any consolation prize, its been 5 months and now Uber has a new CEO, who used to be Expedia CEO and while there he brought Bitcoins to Expedia. Now he's rumored to be Bitcoin friendly and actually have a serius plan to roll out Bitcoin payments for Uber... it is a serious posibility now 5 months later. AND amazon MAY be announcing Bitcouin Support mkes sense when Bitcoin doesnt NEED to have instant confirmations for Amazon where theres no problem with 30 min wait for payment comirmtaion when siupping is gonna at least take a day or two or more... and an uber ride is gona take a few mins at LEAST so thats enough to confirm for BitcoiN RO just require the bitcoins are preloaded in an uber account EASY as that! BUT if Bitcoin Segwit2x comes outand is cheaper and faster than Bitcoin core, and can be used Fast and cheap like bitcoin USED to be like how litcoin is now, (or steem) then we could see uber accepting bitcoin segwit2x same with amazon google maybe we wil see all FAANG companies start to accept Bitcoin but MAYBE it will be the sidechain B2x coin that theyll choose hmmm.... or WHO KNOWS who they will choose.......

Interesting. Inspiring.
I drive for Uber, eTaxi and Taxify every morning. I read this now, and since this morning I will accept payments for the ride not only in Bitcoin (what I've been doing since last September), but also in STEEM & SBD. How can I? Easy. In Taxify rider can also pay in cash, not only by those crapy cards, as in Uber. So it's simple...

STEEM, SBD & BITCOIN accepted

A new sign in my car. Today.

Take a pic and write a steemit post!

I've considered doing this myself! How many people have actually paid you in crypto for a ride?

Zero. None. In 8 month daily drive. Very few people know this. There were maybe 7 or 8 riders, who even had some btc, but they decided to hodl, not spent... And I said them - right on, congratulations, wise decision.... :)

Ha, yeah, I don't blame them. Perhaps promote a discount as a way to incentivize them to use their crypto?

Holy FUCK!!!!!

lol, yea big news

But I don't believe it, article looks fake.

Mhhh yea could be

Glad you can use uber there. In where i reside, uber is restricted and at times they want to reopen but it is immediately ban by the government. It also happens to few areas where i occasionally travelled to. But anyway, thank you for the post.

Wow, can't wait for the decentralized crypto-uber to take out centralized uber.

I just used uber yesterday and was trying to get the driver to sign up for Steemit and accept Steem as payment... He was curious and enthusiastic about it.

I wish to thank you personally for voting for me this past year. Steem has been fun from the beginning, when most people recognized each other. Now it is a little easier to get followers and votes, but I still thank you for contributing to my success. (It may have been a while, but thanks, and nice stuff you post by the way)

reminds me of that photoshop of the romanian subway accepting ltc from 2013

Hello UBER...

Please ACCEPT STEEM/SBD

Another step in the right direction. I cant wait to continue to see more and more headlines like this. Although, I would like to be able to stack a little more crypto in my profile before the mainstream catches on!

Same! I'd rather pay $30/coin than $3,000/coin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64