You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - An encounter with the poetry of Czeslaw Milosz

in #literature5 years ago

Dear @nancybriti, your post and the quotes you have selected to introduce us to the great Milosz have made me think of the image I have of poetry.
What is the edge of poetry?
Because poetry can be an edge before an abyss, or paradise. We move, staggering, through it, with the vertigo of emptiness on one side or with the promise of a sweet light on the other. On the horizon there are all the possibilities of pain and joy.
As has happened to you, a poet who does not speak my language and with whom I share little of the culture spoke to me very clearly at the time: Edgar Lee Masters.
The language of his poetry somehow transcended linguistic barriers for me and survived the translations. He found, like life, the way to prevail through sensibilities and time. Like Milosz to you, the author of "Spoon River Anthology" is a treasure to me, and a refuge.
Thank you for sharing your @adsactly post and for focusing on this author. I know it little, but I'm sure I'll read it now.
A hug!

Sort:  

I once read in part that poetry has nothing to do with languages but with feelings. Some (or many) feelings are shared, lived in the same way. Although the words sadness, love, injustice, are written differently in other languages, the feelings will be the same. Thank you for your comment, @adncabrera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81