You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Distant, Novelesque and Lugubrious (English Romanticism - Part II)

in #literature5 years ago

Excellent work, @josemalavem, very interesting and educational. The reference you make to the romanticism authors highlighted in this publication is very complete.
From romantic poetry, I like the verses of the poem ***Mont Blanc by Shelley that you quote and "The Dream" by Lord Byron. I'll read the poems!
Now, with this statement of yours: "Frankenstein is somehow the initiator of science fiction", you have led me to look for the reading of this work that I have postponed several times, because one of my New Year's resolutions has been to read a little more science fiction, and I will take the suggestion to see the film, although for that I have to prepare myself, is not the films that I like to see. Thank you for this quality article and @adsactly for spreading it.

Sort:  

Grateful for your reading and comment, @aurodivys. "Mont Blanc" and "The Dream" are magnificent poems; the versions I refer to are the original ones, in English, but can be obtained in Spanish. *Frankenstein, Mary Shelley's novel, is a literary jewel and an excellent copy of the Gothic novel that should be read. It can be considered among the initiators of the science fiction narrative because it is the monster product of biological experiments with electrical applications. There was indeed a scientist by the name of Andrew Crosse, who had done such experiments and whom Shelley knew. Branagh's film version is very good (the ones I've seen; there seems to be a more recent one I don't know). Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.27
ETH 3098.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83