EDGE by Jeffrey Deaver

in #literature6 years ago

image.jpeg

Just finished reading this great book! If you're into crime fiction, espionage, board games or psychology, then I think you'll love this too!

Bought this at the book fair in SMX last year for only P129.00

image.jpeg

Here's the synopsis:

"When Washington D.C. police detective Ryan Kessler is targeted by Henry Loving, he and his family are immediately put under government protection. Loving is a ruthless “lifter”, hired to extract information from his victims, and he will use whatever means necessary including kidnapping, torturing or killing their family.

Assigned to the Kesslers is protection officer Corte: uncompromising, relentlessly devoted to protecting those in his care and a brilliant game strategist. He also knows just how brutal the lifter can be – six years earlier, Loving killed someone close to him. As tension increases between the family, the situation escalates into a deadly contest between protector and lifter as each tries to outwit the other. And as the lifter closes in on his prey, Corte must decide whether to protect his charges, or expose them to a killer in the name of personal revenge . . ."

My favorite character here is Corte. He just reminds me of someone I know and I've always been a fan of these kind of stories. It's about family, deception, game strategies which can be useful in difficult situations and technology too that may be used by the CIA or other intelligence groups/agencies.

What I also love about it is it is quite unpredictable. The author really builds up the role of the character with each revelation. You will surely be saying "I get it now" or "That's why he/she is acting like that". Stuff like that.

I also learned a lot of things from reading this book, like how people who work undercover operates, why they have to do what they do, the dangers and perks of their job, the things they have to sacrifice, etc.

I hope that I've stated enough reasons for you to grab a copy! :) Do you have other books of the same genre you can recommend? would love to hear from you guys. Thanks for reading! :)

Sort:  

Based on the synopsis, this is quiet interesting. I think I am liking it. Thanks for sharing friend @bellazelena. Have a great day!

Do you have book suggestions too? Thanks!

I am a fan of j.k rowling, george r.r martin, ann rice, nicholas sparks, and james clavell their novels. You might like Gei-jin; one of my favorites. Thank you dear. Keep steeming!

Will check it out. Thank you! :)

Cool. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62