You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the Necessity of Sucking Stones

in #literature6 years ago

I think the recognition and respect of basic drives is absolutely essential for mental/emotional health, but the fulfillment is less so if it does not directly preserve life. I wrote a story about this concerning repression. If you are interested here is a link. https://busy.org/@giddyupngo/short-story-13-horses-part-1
The 2nd part is here.https://busy.org/@giddyupngo/short-story-13-horses-explanation-part-2
I have never read any of Beckett, though I have heard of him. Thanks for expanding my horizons. :-)

Sort:  

Your story makes an interesting point - it's certainly true that focussing on one drive in particular, or just allowing it to 'take the reins' as it were, is a recipe for disaster! I think, in a way, the madness of Molloy in the extract above shows what can happen in such circumstances.

Then again, viewed side by side, I think these two stories actually show two sides of that age old philosophical debate; is passion or reason, ultimately, in charge? In yours, reason is the young boy holding the reigns, whereas in Molloy's case, these 'reigns' are absent or at best an illusion. Passion, in yours, is secondary to the will to control it, whereas for Molloy it constitutes his will entirely.

Interesting to think about at any rate, although I doubt we'll get to the bottom of it here, haha. Thank you for sharing such an illuminating write with me :)

Thanks for reading it, and you read me correctly, reason should have the reigns in my opinion. Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81