You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Culture - The Life of Tortured Artists #2 (Sylvia Plath & Ernest Hemingway)

in #literature5 years ago

Sylvia Plath and Ernest Hemingway are two relevant American writers with difficult lives. The second is much more widespread and well known, among other things because he is the author of a narrative (excellent stories!, preferred by me more than his novels), which attracts the attention of the ordinary reader, a somewhat striking life (almost spectacular) and the adaptation to cinema of some of his novels (for example, *For whom do the bells ring? *, starring nothing more and nothing less than Ingrid Bergman). Hemingway's life is very intense.
Personally, I am more attracted to the poet Sylvia Plath, not only because she devotes herself to poetry (which identifies me), but also because of her more withdrawn, less public and notorious condition. Her poetry touched me deeply when I met her several years ago. In an anthology of hers that I keep, I review and find inside, among others, two poetic phrases underlined by me from her "poem "The moon and the yew", which seem to me to be very revealing of her torment: "How I would like to believe in tenderness", "I have fallen very deep". Such dramatic or tragic destinies had, for example, the American poet Anne Sexton, the Argentinean Alejandra Pizarnik or the Venezuelan Miyó Vestrini, writers whom I prefer to call "tormented",
Thank you for your informative and sensitive post, @honeydue. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56