You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Wisdom From Another World

in #literature5 years ago (edited)

It's a very productive, stimulating and beautiful article, @honeydue. Books, especially literary ones, which are animated by imagination, are full of ideas and propositions that touch us, even mark our lives. Those who review and quote are books of great beauty and creativity. Three quotes from your post I particularly liked: the one that recognizes the smallness of man, and the ones that value failure and fear. I don't know them all, not even in depth; Tolkien has been the closest. I admit that I have been a reader of earlier, older fantastic literature. Among them I stand out:

Journey to the center of the earth, by Jules Verne; from there I extract the quote: "There is nothing that intoxicates as much as the attraction of the abyss," said the character narrator, Axel.

Alice in Wonderland and Alice through the Mirror, by Lewis Carroll; I find it difficult to take a brief quote from them; I find the expressions of the Cheshire cat (chapter 6 of the first) and Humpty-Dumpty (also chapter of the second) cool.

The Little Prince, by Antoine Saint Exupéry; of him that famous quote: "Only with the heart one can see well; the essential is invisible to the eyes", that the fox says to the Little Prince.

The never-ending story, by Michael Ende; hence, for example, what was gathered in the brief dialogue: "I wish it were always like this," he said. It's always just a moment," she replied.

Thank you for your post, @honeydue, and @adsactly for spreading it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77