My first post on PalNet

in #literature5 years ago (edited)

dance-3994016_1920.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I've been thinking that it's a shame that there is so little recognition for our posts that so many put their heart into;
and new people to steemit I feel have no chance.

I spent months on steemit at first with not a reply or a penny made for my first posts.

I have no idea really why I've kept on writing, maybe because I write and it's an outlet, and I have a following on other sites like fb and wordpress and twitter and etc etc.. I'm certainly not on steemit for the money, that's for sure.

Someone said to me that I should be working on my content and expanding my network, so I said back: been doing that from the start; used to get around 10 to 20 followers a day, but now I'm lucky to get one more each week.

One day I upvoted everyone on PHC, and hardly got a reply or an upvote back. It almost feels like I live in a dark hole that's soundproof; and maybe that's steemit for you.

Don't know what's going on on binance, but yesterday I had 900700 btt, and today I have well over a million; and didn't have any pundi x yesterday, but today I've got loads; and right now holo is on a big going upwards.

Maybe I should get a bottle of wine.

I feel it's disheartening not to be recognised for what I put my heart into; surely I'm not the only one that does what I do; but then again, maybe I'm unique...

Don't know about dapps and apps, but a fair reward system for good content might be nice, I said to Dan on twitter and his reply was to send me a link for here...

I know that content in a post is a bit like art, or music, say jazz, where the receiver is experiencing it from their point of view, and one persons point of view is grounded in their life experience which is always unique; so in a way, good content may never get what it deserves; it can only be measured by whoever reads it from their perspective in life. In fact, someone like J K Rowling, or Stephen King could be writing works in steemit and not getting anywhere at all, they might be getting 30 cents a day for their posts, like me.

I find it strange that posts that have content less engaging get huge rewards.

I know most of what anyone reads is subjective, and perhaps it is mostly like goes to like.

J D Salinger, if he was still here would most likely be called a weirdo and have hardly a read.

I do believe that someone like Richard Brautigan would be laughed at.

My mind is not working tonight

Nothing comes to me

That i look for

In it...

What is, or what makes good content in a post?

Can anyone tell me?

Image from Pixabay

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

Well, that’s the perennial question isn’t it?

Honestly, I have no idea.

JK Rowling wrote what I believe to be works that captured the hearts and imagination of millions.

And then I look at the work of someone like Dan Brown or Tom Clancy and think to myself, ‘how is that even possible?!?’

Perhaps it’s a bit of being in the right place at the right time?

Maybe also coming up with something truly original?

Actually when it comes to posts on Steem I think timing has a lot to do with it.
😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

You could be right, maybe it is all timing

Hello @wales, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I share your thoughts and feelings... My posts get a few cents, a comment here and there and then one bumps into a post which is a photo of someone's dinner and they made the amount of a dinner in a fancy restaurant.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought be now my writing would be seen and maybe even have a little fan base, but as it is I hardly feel like writing at all

Don't worry... Just keep going... Do u have Instagram? There is a tag one can do when one loads an Instagram post that cross posts to steemit its:
#share2steem...
It makes it easy for me to post to steemit with very little effort and slowly I am getting to know some really cool people here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wish I had the answers to your questions, but I'm still a bit clueless myself sometimes. I think some of it is timing, community is definitely huge--though many still take time to grow to actually have a solid vote value, and then of course I hope much of it is quality of content and striking a chord. I know I just don't always have time to hit everyone I would like in a given day, so I know I'm not as strong at manually curating as I would like. Not that my vote counts for a lot, but I would still love to use it more and comment more. Then as a content creator I have posts that seem to hit really well, then others that totally fall flat that could be very similar in theme and quality. For me, when I started on here I thought of rewards as "funny money" anyway. I never thought I would actually earn actual money from blogging, so I think that's perhaps why I don't get as discouraged. Yes I do put a good bit of time into my own writing and helping out on some contests and authoring community page posts, so it would be nice to see some reward for my effort. But as of right now I'm still pretty darn happy with the people I've been exposed to here that I would have never met otherwise. I don't think I would have ever read any of your work in other places, so while I may not click on every post of yours I hope it provides some boon to your pride that you have a fan of your work from your efforts. I'll keep hoping that some day my vote will eventually match up with the value I perceive on many of the posts on here!

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98