TIP OF THE DAY

Do you have a big blender and want a mini bullet type blender... save your money. Almost 90 % of the blenders out there have the same thread as a Mason jar. YES YOU CAN BLEND RIGHT INSIDE A MASON JAR.. smoothies that you can just drink out of the jar . No having to wash extra dishes, no having to spend extra money.

blender.jpg

Bonus tip .. nalgene and kleen kanteen and msr wide mouth bottles share the same lids. So you can swap lids for different purposes.

Steempower.jpg

Sort:  

IMG_20180227_103509.jpg
I feel I must warn you, this just happened less than an hour ago, and it's the second time it has happened to me! The first time I got a month or two out of using the Mason jar before this happened, so I thought it was a fluke. It was a jar from 1976 (it had bicentennial designs on it), so maybe it had just been canned with so much, blah, blah. Nope. This was the first try with a different jar. I think the ice hits it at a bad angle like a missile. If you're not blending ice, then you're probably okay.
It was a very messy morning. 😂

I've not use mine with ice. Just making smoothies. Did you also make sure that the blades cleared the side ? I cant tell the name of that jar , but I would recommend using Bernardin or Ball jars. Stay away from any made in China as the quality of the glass could be suspect.

This was a Kerr brand jar. I think I figured out what it is; either people aren't using ice like you do, or they are using ice from an ice machine, which is less dense so it crushes easily. My ice is in trays in the freezer so it's big and dense and hit that glass like a rock!

That might very well be it. As well as if you happen to take a jar that is warm or even hot. The shock of the temp difference could be a culprit. Try with a different cube and see how it goes. Smaller cubes less force. Let me know how it goes.

Ouch!!! Ok thanks for the tip... no ice, but still a very good hack!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68