What do you think of living with your parents versus living on your own?

in #living5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I'm not a very social or family person. Though I gel with everyone a lot, I'm quite different with it comes to family and attachment and all. I might have a different thought may be after I get married but as of now I always prefer being alone isolated from everything dealing with my own things and things I have interest on. At the same time I don't really hate being with family as well. Especially when there are more relatives in the house and we have lots of interesting people to interact and have fun, it will definitely be a different world. But even then the relatives should also be a fun loving person and should be able to gel with the family. If not it will not be a great thing to be with family and lots of people around us. 

When it comes to parents, I always prefer living with the parents. Especially my parents are very comfortable because they give me the space that I require. I once used to think a lot about this. During my school days and college days, I used to wonder if I should be staying with parents or not because they were very strict and they restricted me so much on many things I liked the most. After I grew up things changed upside down. They started trusting me more than what I trusted myself. It was a complete change over. They were no longer strict with me and they started giving the space that I required. Even till today they have always kept me so much sophisticated and provide me the space that I require to live my own life. 

I say this because I have seen many parents who are more influential on their children. They make decisions for their children and always try to have their children under their control. Up to certain age, it is good but not after that. It will be very awkward for the kids to grow that way and they will not be having any self confidence at all. In that way I feel that parents should not be a burden for the kids. I have also noticed that children who grow up in such an environment really don't care too much about their parents after they grow up. That is all because of bad parenting I would say. 

Advantages of living with parents

Living as a joint family with parents is very common in India and we even say that it is the backbone for our culture. I prefer living in such a big family with not only parents but also with other relatives as well. It has a great advantage and we will be able to interact and grow up with so many people with different way of thinking and mindset. We get more opportunity to learn from the elders. There is also a possibility that we can learn things from their knowledge directly without doing a mistake ourselves and correcting it. 

In India, some couple prefer living alone away from the family after getting married. This culture is emerging only now and I feel it is being copied from the western culture. It might be suitable for people living in west but not completely suitable for people living in places like India. We have been brought up in a society where a huge importance is shown for family building and family associated living. In such environment it will be difficult to learn and manage everything by ourselves. When we have elders in the family, they will act as a knowledge bank. When we need something, we can directly approach them and extract the knowledge from them. 

When there are kids in the house, there is a big advantage. In most of the Indian houses, grandparents take all the initiatives to grow up the kids. The vast amount of knowledge will reside only with them and with parenting all those knowledge will be shared with their kids. If we go and live alone and manage our own life, it will not be a pleasant one because we might not get enough opportunity to learn so many things from our parents. 

As a conclusion, I would also say that living with parents is not a complete decision by the children alone. There are several factors that can make parents and their children live a separate life. Some people think that after a son gets married, the daughter in law dominates and separate the son from the parents. Though it is true in a way, there are also lots of houses where parents are very noisy and it become highly challenging for the son to manage both parents as well as his wife. But for me, I would say that whatever be the situation, we should fight till the end to stay as a family and live only with the parents. I'm thinking that I should not even think about leaving alone and living without parents.  But I'm not sure what can happen after the marriage. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94