You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Random musings, a bike, a longgggg rally trip and thoughts.

in #loansfund5 years ago

I don't know there's so many cons out there. When I first was on here the person who talked me into coming here did a big fundraiser to buy computers for these centers where kids lived so they could blog on Steemit to make extra income. I warned him that my impression of the guy he was going to do this for that this mans own fundraisers seemed skeptical to me. My impression of one of them was he was taking supplies delivered by churches/missions and slapping steemit posters on them to then claiming they were buying the stuff from money made off steemit. I was also skeptical of how they were displaying the stuff outside, it appeared to be in the format of how you would set up stuff to sell on a table market style not a display you'd show if you were just showing what you obtained. There were other give aways also like how the toothpaste, toothbrushes and other personal items were packaged in clear plastic bags, that's indicative of how missions/churches package items to hand out in small individual bundles quickly to the masses who show up for these donations. If an individual in Venezuela was buying this stuff and with the prices of stuff there they wouldn't be wasting money buying plastic bags when people are starving, another dead giveaway was huge banners with steemit written across them hung up, that had to be pretty costly to produce there also, plus t shirts with steemit on them. Some area's of the country are not effected by what's going on over there, if they are not effected then they are not in the same need category. There's also the accusation that some over there are taking supplies coming in and other shortage of food items and selling them at incredible prices to those in need. Anyway, I told him I wouldn't trust this guy. Was I right? I'd say. He never bought computers . He claimed he'd make a post what he did with the money...I am not sure if he ever did or not show what he did with the money I never seen a posting but that doesn't mean it didn't happen. There's other stuff to that caught my eye but anyway the point is that so many are out for themselves you just never know.
The guy who highlighted the other day I went and read his blog. I was like this is really cool he put up individual pictures of the people he intended to help. Then my nay sayer side started to kick in...that's because of how this platform is run, there's so many people running around on here with multiple accounts that they are finding ways to take money from one account to another, or could this be their own family and friends they are funding...etc., etc., because just like the pictures the other guys showed of kids/people in that county none looked to be in the dire straights you see coming out in photos from the MSM. I know your heart is in the right place, that's a given since you are always looking out for people one way or another, there's just so much dishonesty on this site and it was basically built to enrich a couple hundred people who mined the site prior to releasing it (I know I don't have to explain that to you) making near impossible to deliver that what they promise to the masses who have come after, the system is skewed in their favor. I sat and wrote a story a couple weeks ago, there was a reasonable offer on the table for my efforts if I succeeded, I could also put it to someone's attention that another if offended by something I have to say/said wouldn't dare go to my blog and flag everything unrelated into oblivion. I don't mind working towards a goal but honesty, integrity has to be there, when a system is set up to a disadvantage and can be punitive to opinions to sometimes hide the truths to those who speak out it's really hard to trust or take some people at their words.

Sort:  

One thing is certain: many here are not who or what they say they are. There certainly is a core group who use flaggards to protect their interests.

And aint that the truth.

I hear you on that, though regardless of "them" some of us "me" do not need money, I have enough and a pension that kicks in in another 2 years also, that makes it so I never have to worry about the fire starter called money ever again.

Leaving that lot aside, I have found some wonderful people on here, that genuinely know those in need, and in this select group I trust, and it is only going to cost me a little time, and some bs internet tokens, so I pretty much have nothing to lose, I do get where you are coming from 100% though.

I hope you didn't think I was questioning your integrity, that definitely wouldn't be happening, you wouldn't be a "best" in my book and you'd probably already sent me packing....lol.

No, the thought never crossed my mind. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85