Our Dynamic Earth - A Long Exposure


20140209-IMG_5056 copy.jpg

This is 'Our Dynamic Earth'. The name makes it sounds like we all own a piece of it.. rather presumptuous if you ask me. No one 'owns' the earth. Although maybe if we all felt like we owned it people would take a little bit better care of her.

Anyway, 'Our Dynamic Earth' is an museum/permanent exhibition about the natural world. It covers the natural history of our planet and its evolution, you walk through various rooms that cover the planet's natural history. The highlights for me were a room with a big chunk of actual glacier (i.e. ICE) sitting in the middle of a room and a planetarium room where you sit in fancy chairs and look at the ceiling presentation of the stars.. my favourite bit since I am a bit of a space geek.

Funny Story

Writing about this reminds me of a funny story with the Glacier.. My Girlfriend's work Christmas party was there last Christmas and another company that was there had one guy who got very drunk.. now I have always been careful not to get drunk at Christmas parties because embarrassing yourself in front of your colleagues with drunken antics can sometimes have serious effects on your career .. Anyway, this guy gets really drunk and is running all over the place, the exhibitions being an ass.. Eventually he gets to the big chunk of glacier and decides it would be a good idea to climb it.. well you can imagine what happens, he slips off of it and breaks his ankle .. but he's so drunk he doesn't notice and keeps running around like an idiot. Eventually he blacks out white as a sheet and an ambulance is called to take him away. I can imagine his colleagues were not impressed! I certainly thought he was a prize moron and I wasn't even there!

Anyway, so this is a long exposure shot of the building, which is a rather oddly shaped building .. like a temporary tent or something put up in someones back yard.. I guess technically since its next to the palace it is in the Queens backyard!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T16:36:33
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 579.92/800.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I think it was funny at first but then as he was making more and more mess, people got bored fast. Some people can not hold their alcohol lol.

This is true, I bet the next time he came into work things were a bit awkward too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97