Painting With Light

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

light-play-10.jpg

light-play-11.jpg

During our month together in Gokarna – a little beach town about 3 hours South of Goa – my dear friends, Oliver and Joni and I did a lot of collaborative art. Mostly, we'd sketch throughout the day, switching papers between the 3 of us, each adding a bit at a time. It was incredibly inspiring and creatively nourishing.

We eventually had the brilliant idea to experiment with drawing together in an entirely different way. With the beach as our backdrop, Oli and Joni illustrated with colorful lights while I did my best to record their movements on camera. Having no tripod with me, it took a lot of tries before we achieved anything good. Most of it was just scribbled swashes of blurred light, but – towards the end – we'd found our flow.

These are my favorites from our final session. In the first one, I love how the sand around them is blurred from their movements. I also find it quite hilarious that Oli managed to create a creepy-looking, ghosted image of his face on his abdomen. The second one feels so calm in comparison, and – to my eye – looks much like a skull and brain, complete with ears and a spinal cord.


camera: Canon EOS 5D Markii
lens: 35mmf1.4L Prime
specs: ISO 125 - f5.6 - 15 sec , handheld
date: 12 March 2010

Sort:  

Beautiful Photo! I can see three faces in the first picture. That had to be a Satisfying Experience!

Thank you! It was satisfying and nerve-wracking all at once! Holding myself and camera reasonably still for 15 seconds was hard – had to hold my breath a lot! But I was stoked with the end results, for sure. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #longexposurephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 4/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 23:55:55
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 275.96/400.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 28
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

How did you make the light @zipplyo?

They were literally drawing around themselves, making patterns and shapes with small lights – holding a different colored light in each hand. There was no plan or structure to it, just – 15 seconds of experimentation and curiosity about how it would turn out. :) It was a lot of fun!

Of course it's fun.)

Excellent memory and capture, be well and steem on @zipplyo

Thanks @krazypoet! Full STEEM ahead! 😉

Right on your welcome

Congratulations @zipplyo, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 8805 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3483.66. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That's a pretty awesome statistic! Thank you for sharing. I'll admit – I published this post, then stepped away for several hours. When I happened to check while eating dinner, I nearly spit out my salad! I certainly wasn't expecting that. Thank you @mikepm74, @curie and your awesome curation trail! Safe to say you've made my day. ;)

A remarkable post. You must be enjoying your visit to Goa, a lovely place on our planet. That it stirs your collaborative creativity even better. Great result and you could read anything into either of the pictures. Thank you and enjoy the rest of your visit.

Thanks @jvalentine! I've never been to Goa, itself, and these photos were taken in 2010. Soooo – unless time travel soonly becomes possible – I won't be 'enjoying the rest of my visit' anytime soon! ;) Glad you like the photos, regardless.

Here's to your visit then and I did enjoy the photos, very creative.

Really nice long exposure. I've tried light painting like this...never got anything good. Nice work.

Thanks @jfolkmann! I haven't done it again – this really was a spontaneous collaboration – but I'm sure I'd enjoy trying it again sometime.

Interesting!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

This is pretty cool, have you seen the pixel stick light used for long exposure light painting its pretty cool, haha you'd think i'm a salesperson for them but cool photography :)

These lights were something similar – though very cheaply made! If I recall correctly, we found them in some local shop for a small amount of rupees. • And, thank you. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01