My History With Los Angeles

in #losangeles5 years ago

In my early 20's, I was obsessed with cityscapes. After spending years in Arizona suburbs, I yearned for a life that more fashionable millennials were having in urban settings.

The first time I visited LA was in 2004.
P1010168.jpg
P1010171.jpg
I was smitten with how unique and every block was and how the weather was eternal spring. Rather than the same cookie cutter strip malls on every corner, the streets were replete with one-of-a-kind shops, cafes and eateries. The mixed usage commercial and housing zones encouraged people to walk around and discover new things.
The above pictures are from my first visit to Santa Monica 3rd Street Promenade and Sawtelle, respectively.

I worked and had fun through my 20's, and they ended before I even knew it. When turned 30, I relocated to LA for a job, but the idyllic version of the city that I held onto as a lighthouse in a dark bay was almost cartoonishly inaccurate.

It was 2013, the recession was just winding down and, while there was still high unemployment, rents were beginning to peak out of the hole like wary mice, ready to emerge after the cat is gone. I was quickly learning that Los Angeles was a place where you either made it or you didn't, and the people that didn't take up the lion's share.

I've gotten used to budgeting and keeping a much more modest lifestyle in order to stay afloat. I've gotten a few raises and things seem to be turning for the better. What I've learned is that your expectations can easily get the best of you, and the most successful people are those that roll with the punches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56