Drunken thoughts: I’m losing hope here in Steemit

in #losinghope6 years ago (edited)

An Outcast

I’ve had other accounts in popular websites such as Facebook and Instagram where I have common friends and closest friends. I would spend almost whole day expressing myself through these websites, posting all kinds of stuff including what’s on my mind. I never knew that we can make some money by posting online until I discovered Steemit.com.

By the time I entered in such a new platform, honestly I got confused on what to do here in Steemit. No one had taught me on how to navigate this. And there was only me who did the very best to understand everything about Steemit. I dived into several references/ blogs from other Steemians in order to know the tips on how to get started. Until I discovered some superb bloggers in Steemit whose blogs were flooded by upvotes and have gained several followers namely: @surpassinggoogle @papa-pepper @acidyo @fyrstikken @ned @gavvet @gringalicious @hr1 @jerrybanfield @penguinpablo @kenny-crane @kevinwong

It came suddenly on my mind that I wanted to be a good writer like them. Being too ambitious isn’t that bad, right?

I realized that most of the steemians are imterrelated. I could see on the comments section their interchangig convos and then as I was trying to put a comment on my idol, I felt very awkward for not being replied. That is why sometimes I felt like an OUTCAST.

Yes, English isn’t my first language but believe me I’m trying

I gotta be honest I’m a Filipino. And I know that I’m not that very good in English. I would be honest that I have trouble in even speaking fluently but I m working it out to be better. I practice making content so that I would be able to produce a readable one. As I tried to post several articles online, I received offending comments about my grammar. In fact, they were too straight forward without understanding that Im still a newbie here. Well, lets face it. There’s pretty lot of differences between american language and learned-english. Its never hard for english speakers to produce a content because they have this spontaneity however for a filipino like me whose english is still developing, I might have a hard time constructing proper sentences on my posts. I would appreciate a friendly and constructive critics instead of insulting comments.

Got confused of what to write and not to write


This confusion started when I noticed my posts not receiving any upvotes. ANd the heartbreaking part was there were just seeners on my posts. I ran back to my newsfeed seeing blogs being upvoted by the majority of people. Then I read those articles. Just few month ago, I noticed some were interested with certain topics such as about health, poems, photography, travel, humor and many more. I tried to divert my field of interest and made blogs about tags that were more trendy to the viewers. However, I only got pathetic cents.

I feel outdated

I know that any website are meant to keep on changing. So there have been innovations that took place in this website. Yes, there were times when I failed to post consecutively here in Steemit because I have a work. I work my ass 12 hours a day and everytime I arrive home, it felt like I'm loosing my eyes and nodded off. So I feel outdated with the latest trend here in Steemit. I don't know anymore about the most recent activities established by known bloggers such as photo contest and bots.

Unrecognized

I’ve been here in Steemit since August 2016.

But it seemed I haven’t improved.I haven’t had much of upvotes. I have to be honest, I only got pathetic cents. I might have been followed by bots, whales or something like that but I have never been recognized by my idols. I don't know why or maybe I'm just paranoid.

I think I have to end up here before I get too emotional. You know what, I have put my authentic personality here in Steemit. I have never been a fake one but I might be a trying hard one as a blogger. But rest assured all of my posts were my true color with real and honest expression.

.

.

I know that I might get a lot of critics in here afterwards. Hope you had fun reading this.

Have a good day Steemians!
Sort:  

ramdam ko din ang na feel mo sis..nag simula ako sa steemit na 3 followers lang..at cents lang din kinikita, ang ginawa sge lang ng sge, post lang ng post. kahit minsan tuyo na utak ko sa kakaisip ng isusulat ko..pero ganyan talaga ang buhay sis, minsan nasa taas minsan nasa baba, ganito din sa steemit, minsan mabinta ka? minsa halos walang value ang post mo kahit ginawa mo lahat. at naging 500 words na at feeling mo you do all the best you can..at masasabi mo na article mo ay mahusay..

pero gayun paman patuloy lang sa pag post, don't stop dreaming at makilala din tayo. at maging celebrity din tayo sa larangan ng pag susulat dito sa steemit na palataporma @annesaya

salamat sa supporta kabayan. salamat sa motivation na mgpatuloy dito sa steemit. akala ko ako lng ang nkaramdam nito. :-)

Your English is way better than a lot of native English speakers I know. Don't lose heart. Since this isn't your main source of income, don't give up. Try commenting. I found a really good guide on Dbooks. Check it out:

https://www.dbooks.org/#/book/SJlrA-Rs9M/cover

I know you're not a newbie here. But the tips on that book sure make a lot of sense.

thanks so much! I appreciate the complement. dbooks sounds good. I'm gonna check that out

Thanks for mentioning me!

I agree with the others; your English is very good. :)

Keep posting if you enjoy it, comment on others' posts, and try something new. Some have recommended Discord chats. There is also a freewrite thing going around where someone gives a few words and everyone writes something short with those words in it. They seem to have a nice group of people doing that activity.

Have a good day! :)

thank you so much @kenny-crane. I wanna know more of that freewriting in steemit. :-)

visit all the posts on @ulogs and @uloggers and visit #ulog. get you ULOGGER GIF header/footer with @phatum04

I feel the pains too.Yea I do. After wasting time writing articles and no inspring comme ts or upvotes is coming forth. I actually stopped rsnting when I knew sir terry and became a member of the steemgigs discord group. Dont hesistate to join pls.

I appreciated that there are people like you who empathize my sentiments. I'm looking forward to know you better. Just followed you :-)

Thanks so much. I am looking forward to knowing you more too. Guess we can do that we you join us on discord.

Good morning @annesaya.

Well, don't lose hope yet, not now not ever. Saw your post on Sir Terry's facebook page and I followed it down here and truly I will say your English is good. Don't be intimidated by anything, we are all awesome in our own ways. Become the awesomest version of yourself, and from your Reputation score I will say you've gone a long way in this platform, Just keep believing. Know that

Everyone has something to offer

And We want you to

Become a Ulogger today. We are your true fans.

Cheers

thank you so much @nexrules for such an inspiring comment. I feel overwhelmed that Sir Terry liked my blog. :-)

To be candid, you have not got bad grammers, since we are able to comprehend your speeches. This life is not worth going up, keep on pestering and one day you will also meet your jackpot. I'm a victim too, but still on the run to face any challenges that come my way...

I feel you. But don't loss hope, you have high reputation compared to others like me. Just hang on and keep steeming.

I feel you :(

Upvoted and Followed!
I think you sound very nice and it's excellent meeting you here.

Your English is fine. Some people are just mean.

I LOVE the Philippines!

My wife is from your country.

If you ever need any help with your English just ask me and I'll be happy to help.

Personally I think it's pretty hard to succeed here at Steemit.

You're doing lots better than I am here, so really I think that you may be doing better than you realize. ☺

having read your comments sounds very uplifting. :-) It's so cool that you can probably teach me more about English. I bet there still a lot more about English that I haven't known yet such as slang language. I really want to develop myself in content making. I'll let you know if I need help. :-)

Salamat po for your reply!
I look forward to helping you if I can.
For example if you would like to know how to say a sentence better, then just send me what you want to say and I'll adjust it for you. But I don't think you will need much help. ☺

We're sharing the same sentiments Ma'am, but it's always good to feel that Steemit is a platform to pour our hearts out. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77