FOUND: Puck The Pup

in #lostdog6 years ago

MISSING DOG, PLEASE HELP!

Puck Wanted.jpg

This is the picture I chose to appeal to the masses, in hopes this sweet face might inspire others to help. I don't think it mattered that she is the cutest damn thing anyone has ever seen. People LOVE dogs, it turns out. I have to tell you Steemit; losing our dog kinda reaffirmed my hope for humanity.

puck smiles.jpg

We had a few oddballs contacting us. Contacting me, really, since I put my personal phone call on every outhouse, henhouse, penthouse and doghouse for miles. One dude called and said his friend, a construction worker, had probably maybe seen my dog and to call XYZ number. And to keep calling, just back-to-back, kind of calling. So I blew this number UP. I'm pretty sure he was looking at his phone and telling his friends that his girl was mad or something. I have no idea but it was lame.


Thursday, my husband and I started walking from the point Puck was last seen. We hiked a super adorable culvert between the freeway and the back yard of seedy Glendale; hello hypodermic needles! From there we saw some homeless people and approached them. One after another, they knew our dog. One guy, the Bike Guy, had seen her the night before in the park we were close to. Walking into that park, I met a homeless lady who had ALSO seen her the night before. Feeling quite confident that these were legit sightings coupled with the close proximity to where Puck had last been seen, we set up camp in the park. Plastering it and the nearby streets with Missing Dog posters on Thursday, we returned with the kids to just BE at the park all day on Friday. This was four full days after she had gone missing and morale was LOW.

sunny Puck.jpg


On Friday, I asked all of our friends if they wouldn't mind meeting us at this park after the kids got out of school. My thought was that maybe she would hear the familiar children and come. Or that she would just BE there somehow... I'm not sure. But it seemed like the right thing to do, so we did it. We were at the park for about an hour when I got a phone call. The lady on the other side asked if we were still missing our dog, that she had JUST seen her outside her apartment. I told her we were at the park and she laughed and said, 'Look up the street!' She was less than a block away, within sight of the park we were at! Two of my kids and a family friend ran up to this woman, who showed us where Puck had gone after running away from the woman. My eldest daughter and friend went around to the other side of the garage and Bob and I stayed at the gate. I went into the apartment building to see if someone might be able to open the gate for us and I heard Bob call for our dog...

Puuuucckk! Puuuucckk!

but then his voice changed and he shrieked; PUCK!


IMG_20180511_133914.jpg

FOUND


This damn dog, y'all. She has lost NO weight, which after four days means she took to the streets like a hooker who doesn't even need the Oxy. There appears to be one slight scratch on her paw and possibly a scratched eye. Both of which are healing perfectly. I'd like to be really really mad at her you know... but I'm just glad she's home.

IMG_20180511_203831.jpg

xoxoxo,

b.

Just Beth.jpg

Sort:  

After the first few days I didn't expect this story to have a happy ending so this is just great news.

You better get that dog a @spl collar so if she runs again at least she can promote the league around the park, after all she is the official mascot.

So happy for you guys! Welcome home Puck!

thanks dude. you were really great throughout the whole thing, I appreciate your friendship. :)

That's an awesome post! So glad to hear the good news and that Puck wasn't turned into Korean BBQ. Growing up in so cal unfortunately I've known more than a few dogs in the neighborhood that became dinner...

So glad you found her. What a little stinker.

Such a happy story 👏👏👏

My dog only runs away from my house if the hot air balloons come over head & he’s outside alone. He will go through fencing & blackberries to get away from the hot air balloons. Luckily, he hides in the woods & comes back home when he thinks the dragons 🐉 are gone. Has only happened twice & I smashed through the woods for hours to try to find him. One time I found him quick. The next time I saw him hiding in the woods trying to sneak across the street into his yard just before dusk. Was so happy to get him back home after only a couple hours. Four days is epic for little puck

Such a happy story 👏👏👏

My dog only runs away from my house if the hot air balloons come over head & he’s outside alone. He will go through fencing & blackberries to get away from the hot air balloons. Luckily, he hides in the woods & comes back home when he thinks the dragons 🐉 are gone. Has only happened twice & I smashed through the woods for hours to try to find him. One time I found him quick. The next time I saw him hiding in the woods trying to sneak across the street into his yard just before dusk. Was so happy to get him back home after only a couple hours. Four days is epic for little puck

I bet she never runs away again. At least not too far.

How exciting that everything has ended very happy, the canines are very adorable and the love they give is the most real

cuando-los-niños-qiueren-un-perro.png

I told you, you would find her!! My eyes are welling up with tears of joy!!
You made my day!!!
When I lost Axyl and then got him back, it confirmed to me there is a higher power and nothing can keep the ones we love away.
I'm so happy for your family and especially Puck!!
Thank you for the update!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73