Lost in Thought (by Pixiehunter)

in #lostinthought4 years ago

Today was a test of so many emotions for me. After already having an insane week who would think it just couldn't get any worse? Life was never meant to be easy. What makes it easy is our coping mechanism to chaos. How we handle things that seem out of our control, can at times, test our self control to its limits. I am a huge processor and always think about the events that are happening or had happened, and find logic or reason for said event to go the route it did.
Do we (those who feel they have complete control of emotions) truly ever keep from running into a train wreck?
I ran into mine and had a hell of a time pulling back out. Today was the day that everything seemed out of my control. I was concerned I wouldn't be able to pull back out, even after two lengthy phone calls.
I've read about how meditation can help, and have a family member who reminds me once in a while to focus on my breathing. If I feel out of sorts or disoriented then I find it easy to do the breathing. But when chaos finds its way in it's a whole new story.
When I see others having a rough day I do my best to try and put a smile on their face and will think up ways to get them to smile, even if just a little one. It's tough when it is yourself on the other end.
How do you cope? Do you meditate, and if so how do you get your brain to focus when the world seems to be against you? Have you had moments where you were the one needed a shoulder or someone with an open mind to talk to?

Hope you liked reading this and comment. Thank you for taking the time to check out my post.

my banner.png

Sort:  

So nice to see you back here! :)

Sometimes we do get down, like on rainy days and Mondays, but then things turn around and we're on the top of the world!

I like to take a nice long walk or jog when I need to get my head straight. The fresh air and exercise helps me. Music is always good too. Put on a fun playlist. :)

Hope to see you back here again soon!

Thank you for your comment. I did have two songs stuck in my head and only had time to listen to just one.
This is my favorite one and playing it now.

Cool version of a classic tune by Simon and Garfunkel.

The lyrics are interesting and open to interpretation as all poetry is. To me, its about how we're all caught up in our own lives and don't take the time to listen to others.

The song itself is really inspiring! Because it started to be written in 1963 but didn't become a number 1 hit until 1966. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sound_of_Silence

It seems that the song was recorded in March 64 for an album but got no airplay. It was originally stripped down without electric guitar or drums. Some time after the album came out and went nowhere, the producer remixed the track and added the guitar and drums, and re-released it at the end of 65. It climbed to number 1 in January 66.

So sometimes things that you think were a failure can become a success if you revisit them again in a different way. :)

One last point about Simon and Garfunkel - They started out as Tom and Jerry in 1957 having a hit with Hey Schoolgirl. They released a few other singles after that, but they went nowhere. It took 9 years for them to be a success with Sounds of Silence in 1966. They are originally from Queens, NYC, just like me. :)

The Sound of Silence
"The Sound of Silence", originally "The Sounds of Silence", is a song by the American music duo Simon & Garfunkel. The song was written by Paul Simon over several months in 1963 and 1964. A studio audition led to the duo signing a record deal with Columbia Records, and the song was recorded in March 1964 at Columbia Studios in New York City for inclusion on their debut album, Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M..
Released on October 19, 1964, the album was a commercial failure and led to the group disbanding, with Simon returning to England and Art Garfunkel to his studies at Columbia University.

Congratulations @pixiehunter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78