Always a bridesmaid, never a bride.

in #love6 years ago (edited)

I have been lucky enough to have been a maid of Honor three times.

Always a bridesmaid, never a bride sort of thing. Being a bridesmaid and not the bride was something that made me sad because what girl doesn't want to be a bride and have her fairy-tale ending? Or should I say beginning?

FB_IMG_1522845729522.jpg

Well.. One has been married three times divorced twice, the other one married twice divorced once and the third one has been married for more than 10 years in my opinion unhappily married. With that being said, I will happily be the bridesmaid.

I do believe in marriage and don't want to discourage anyone from getting married but I came to realize that the fairy-tale I always believed in does not exist.

I still want to get married and believe that some part of me is still holding on to the fairy-tale image planted inside of me by almost every love story and fairy-tale I watched on TV. Then there is another part of me that don't want to get married because I know that it is not going to be as easy and natural as I always thought it would be.
But mostly I dont want to end up divorced.

FB_IMG_1522845934433.jpg

Is there a happy medium? Does happy marriages still exist? I need some hope to hold on to.

FB_IMG_1522845873115.jpg

Maid Of Honor:

  1. Close friend or sister to the bride
  2. One who gives emotional support on the big day
  3. Helps the Bride pick out the perfect dress
  4. Plans and hosts a perfect bachelorette party
  5. An excellent listener and confidant
Sort:  

Congratulations @annelienqueenb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Hi Annelien, well, I want to encourage you in saying that I also doubted - at my age - that happy marriages existed. Until I moved here and met a whole new bunch of people. This is seriously a LOT of people! All happily married (Except one couple) Some still hold hands after almost 40 years of marriage!
Chat again

Awww thank you! Sorry, I only saw your reply now. As you can see I dont post and come on here as regular as before. Thank you for the encouragement, it really means a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66