Perfection

in #love6 years ago

love.jpg
I've whimpered and sulked
when i couldn't meet up
with the struggle for ideal
perfection.
.

I've lost my self
being who I'm not,
forgetting who I was
becoming a people-pleaser
.

hiding the flaws in me
going the extra mile
to make up for my inability
to keep up with some status quo.
.

walking the entire town for those who wouldn't lift a finger for me
giving my all on the altar of "sacrifice"
.

but those times are long gone.
for now i know that
before anyone,
i belong to my own self
.

I'm flawed. But isn't that the idea
of love and acceptance?
in reality, no one is perfect
but we've gotta love us despite
our imperfections.
.
and yes, if you can't
accept my flaws
you sure don't deserve my
perfection.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bakarie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bakarie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91