Don't Look for Love in NYC, Here's why:

in #love6 years ago (edited)

dating nyc .jpg

Outside of blockchain and my work, I like to date. Especially when I first moved to NYC. The city was so new and exciting and I loved the opportunity to meet new people and check out cool places. I liked dining at trendy restaurants and getting a feel for what it's like to live here. I was also newly single and open to the possibilities of finding love in this city.

Well, flash forward five years and I'm still single and still pretty much doing the same things I was doing when I first moved here. Only now my perception of the city has changed and with it my perspective on dating in this city. So I've compiled a list of reasons why New York City dating sucks.

  1. More women than men
    This is a main reason that it's much harder to find love here. By default, if you're a woman, you're at a disadvantage. In other cities, like Philadelphia, the city is more evenly set. In NYC there are a shortage of men. You don't really notice it when you're out and about in the city, especially in neighborhood like FiDi and Midtown East but there is a shortage. And with that comes more competition for a man

  2. Dating apps don't help
    The use of dating apps to find love is not exclusive to New York City, but New Yorkers are big users of the tech. After all, you can find someone new with the swipe of your finger. In a city where they deliver the Sunday paper on Saturday (yes that's a quote from Sex and the City) New Yorkers want things fast.

  3. We want the best
    What drives people to New York? They say if you can make it here you can make it anywhere. Many of us have a drive and a passion to succeed in a particular industry. This doesn't always translate well to romance and that's another reason it's been difficult.

If someone is looking to move here to find love, they most likely should look elsewhere. I hate to sound so bitter on the subject but, hey, it happens? Our bagels? That's a different story ;)

Sort:  

Sounds like you girls are at a real disadvatage when it comes to finding the right guy. However, I don’t think it’s just NYC. In many places it is tough for a girl to find a well-heeled, hard working, good-looking man who respects women. If you add that he needs to be fit, interesting, attentive, and funny then the numbers are already shrinking. Throw in the necessary requirement for him to own a centre of town penthouse, plus a country mansion, and you getting close to a pool of zero.

Haha well that's true. I don't know if I'm looking for ALL of that. But I do agree that expectations can sometimes be out of line on both sides. Thanks for reading though! Always nice to get input. And I agree that dating isn't easy so matter where you are. But I still think you're at a disadvantage here.

Congratulations @blockchainbella! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blockchainbella! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55