Saraswati Puja: A Way To Express Gratitude

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Today, on January 22nd, Hindus celebrate Saraswati Puja: a festival dedicated to the Goddess of education, Saraswati.

On this day, Students pray to her to give them the motivation and strength to get them through their education path. They thank her for the opportunity given to them to learn and grow.

Parents pray to her for the prosperity of their children’s career.

Teachers pray to the goddess to bless them with more knowledge that they can share with the future of the nation.

Reminiscing Childhood Days


Growing up, Saraswati Puja was a big festival in my home town. The regular school schedule would be paused for that day. We would gather in the school assembly area in the morning at about 8 am. The entire school - faculty, students, and custodians - would gather as a family to thank the Goddess. Then, we would scatter to areas where the school would have lots of food and sweets available for us students to enjoy.

It wasn’t just MY school who did this. Almost every school in town would have food available for everyone so anyone was free to go around town visiting different schools and taking little food packets as a gift.

I especially loved eating Buniya, little chick pea sized balls of deliciousness. Abundant sweet treats were all my heart desired at that age so my friends and I made sure we visited as many schools as possible to collect all the goodies. 😉




Mixing Religion and Education?

Looking back, it almost seems like a bad idea to bring religion into an educational institution. However, the idea behind what we were doing makes sense.

We were being taught to be thankful for the opportunity to learn and receive quality education; especially in a developing country like Nepal where so many people never got a chance to even hold a book in their lives, back in those days.

We were being taught to show gratitude for what we are receiving.

For the rigorous South Asian schooling system that starts at a very young age, it was a day where the school could show us love all while teaching us how crucial education is.

Showing My Gratitude

The tradition is to pray to the Goddess to give you knowledge and wisdom. I'm not very religious but I know the power of gratitude. Showing how thankful I am, even for the smallest things in life, has worked extremely well for me.

Now, I'm not going to sit here and act like praying will solve all of my problems. I'm not going to leave everything up to this higher being and hope everything turns out well for me. I don't believe that good things will just come to me without me putting any effort at all. I work hard everyday, at school and at work, so I can have a good future.

It doesn't matter what religion someone follows or doesn't follow to be thankful for what we have. Expressing gratitude is a universal thing, despite the culture or religion. So, lets all learn to be thankful for what we have every day of our lives; doesn't matter how big or small.

So here goes mine...

From being able to come to the land of opportunities in hopes of receiving quality higher education, to discovering self-improvement platforms like Steemit, I am thankful for all the opportunities I've received in my life.

Nothing is more powerful than education and I can't thank my parents, my birth-country AND my naturalized country, my teachers, and the universe, enough.

So, regardless of what religion you believe in, what country you are from, how great your life is, how much you are struggling, anything, let's take a moment to thank everyone and everything that has made it possible for us to get the best education possible with the best available technology in the history of mankind.

Upvote, comment, and/or resteem if you liked my post! :)


Credits: Images 1, 3, and 4 are from Pixabay.com


-Reez

Sort:  

It is great to show gratitude and love what is on your list @cabernet! I love steemit and the community here and so grateful. I am a firm beleiver also in constant education to become our best selves.

Grateful to meet you here as well! Have a great day! :D

Thank you @bitdollar! It's amazing all the opportunities we have today from one source, the internet. Super happy to have met motivated, supportive people like you in here as well! :D

:):) Same here

@cabernet...

We were being taught to be thankful for the opportunity to learn and receive quality education

Being raised in America, we never had this kind of mixture, but I most definitely agree that the aspect of appreciation is hugely useful, even if it is to some god. It's still gratitude nonetheless!

Do you guys have halloween over there? Because it kind of sounds like a different version of trick or treating that we have here. Except the difference is that we go from house to house and get candy... while you guys seem to go from school to school ;-)

let's take a moment to thank everyone and everything that has made it possible for us to get the best education possible with the best available technology in the history of mankind.

Amen to that! I am very grateful - even for the parts of my education I didn't agree with. They only helped make me stronger :)

Interesting observation, @axios, when you say it's like a different version of trick or treating! I never thought of it that way :D We don't celebrate Halloween. There's SO MANY festivals of our own that it might be hard to fit in more renowned festivals from around the world haha

I am very grateful - even for the parts of my education I didn't agree with. They only helped make me stronger

I love that you say this. Regardless of whether or not you learn anything life-changing in classes you took in HS or University, you will at least know what you definitely do not enjoy and what you could possibly find a passion for.

Thanks for the super thoughtful comment! :)

Oh that sounds like a fun place to live! Are you still residing in Nepal? I've never been, would love to go sometime :)

Living there has its pros and cons for sure! I currently live in Iowa. Midwest life haha

And if you're feeling adventurous, I definitely recommend going there. It's beautiful although under-developed! :)

I lived in Davenport Iowa for three years! Crazy :P

Whaaat. That is crazy. Small world! :D

@cabernet... love the post and lately I've been incorporating reflecting on my day each night and finding moments to be grateful for. It's not hard, there's always something, even if it's just the feeling of a nice breeze through the house on a hot day. Or even if it's just for the nice meal that you enjoyed and are grateful just to have food in your belly.

I'm so grateful I woke up really early today to make an opportunity for exercise and meditation before starting work today!

Beautifully put, @atravelers.life! I used to write a journal every night and one of the things I'd make sure I included was the things I'm grateful for. Really changed my perspective on how my life is and where I am at. I should go back to writing on paper but Steemit is so addicting haha

Thanks for stopping by! :)

It definitely is very addictive... I'm having a hard time getting any work done trying to stay active on here! It's good though, I'll find a balance!

During childhood,it was really fun to celebrate saraswati puja.You reminded me those days

Glad I could remind you of your fun childhood days :)

hey you made me remember of my school days, we used to have fun and the most beautiful part is eating buniya. i still buniya and whenever i remember saraswati pooja, best side of it is buniya

Buniya is pretty delicious! Glad the post reminded you of fun times you had early in life!

yeah it did :)

from my childhood memory i remember more Buniya than lord saraswati mata.

hahah kids and sweets!

Congratulations @cabernet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75