You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love at First Lick: a Short Story of Loss and Joy

in #love6 years ago

My eyes are filled with tears. This issue is of the nearest and dearest to my heart. I have done posts on this issue. When I was young I bought puppies and thought I could never get as close with a grown dog. Until one day, we found Penny. She was a red nose Pitbull and was in the road and bleeding. We thought she had been hit by a car. We stopped and I opened my passenger side door. She looked at us and stepped up on the running boards as if to say “please help me”
She was skin and bones and her bleeding was from tumors on her belly. We took her home. After much veterinary care she was in great health. I named her Penny (find a penny, pick it up, for the rest of the day you’ll have good luck). The vet said her cancer would only give her a few months. She lived two and a half more years in love and care and changed my view on a dogs ability to bond. She loved us so much and we her.

Don’t breed or buy while shelter dogs die.

Sort:  

Poor baby! How lucky Penny was to have found you (truly, you were probably the lucky one). Stories like that break my heart. There aren't enough homes for all of the lost dogs out there... but surely there would be if dogs were no longer bred "pure" for money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69479.52
ETH 3691.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26