Truth about LOVE

in #love6 years ago

valentine-day-background-with-cute-hearts-in-red-tones_1199-25.jpg
Source

Hey guys,
Its another season of Valentine. It a time where we all think we should be showering love on the ones we love and mostly have a romantic feeling towards.
So from the beginning of this month, many people have been asking me who is going to my Valentine?
You must have gotten a lot of invites and probably have chosen the one you would spend the day with or not.

Sincerely, I have just been wondering why we make such a big deal about VALENTINE

Here is some of the response I got

  1. Its a period to show love to your partner and I asked what about other days?
  2. Its a day to have fun.
  3. Its a day to make an unreasonable request from your partner and be sure it would be granted.
  4. and so on.

I feel this is all wrong and so I felt I should share a little about Valentine.

Valentine's day celebration is a day to mark the sacrifice of the St. Valentine a Roman Priest who was executed for marrying couples in a time where the Emperor said marriage was forbidden. It is said while in prison he became friends with the Jailers daughter who is said to have been blind and his prays cured her. Son on the day of his execution he wrote a letter to her and signed YOUR VALENTINE, hence VALENTINE.

I believe we have all mistaken the true meaning of the valentines day celebration and turned it into a day of having fun, illicit sex, compulsory display of affection etc.

The St. Valentine showed us that love is about sacrifice. Yes, I said sacrifice. He knew that if he secretly wedded couples he would be sentenced to a three-course execution, permit to explain
First, he would be beaten to a pulp
Second, he would be stoned
and Thirdly his head would be cut off.

Even with this knowledge, he went ahead to celebrate the true love between couples.

I would like to remind us

1 Corinthians 13:3-13 New International Version (NIV)
3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[a] but do not have love, I gain nothing.
4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.
13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Love is a beautiful thing lets all remember that. Happy VALENTINE everyone.

I want to thank @ejemai @samstickkz @ogoowinner @tojukaka for all the Sacrifices (love) they have been making to see that steemit has a stronghold in Nigerian youths.

Sort:  

Nice update.
most times, the questions of

who will be your val or who is your val ?

is always very annoying to me.
Valentine's Day is just a day.
the question is, after the 14th February,2018, what will happen to the remaining days of February or he remaining days of he year.

my advice is that, be careful of what you do on the 14th of February, so that it will not be held against you?.

True words. We fail to answer the question after valentine what next?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71