Super Quick Health Dish "Old-Dutch" StylesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #love5 years ago (edited)

Recently I was made aware of Keto. Nope, its not a person, nor a city or country (at least not when I last checked the globe). Apparently Keto is a (new) way of eating. Guess this cannot be called a diet, since it not only suppose to give more energy, but when progressing into the ketonic stage, the body will start to produce more stem cells. And we all know that stem cells are the reason why our body is our body, these cells are the foundation of our biological self. I guess a whole science is behind this, but can't say I researched yet. Something I plan to do.

Keto seems to be a kinda Atkins which was popular a decade or two ago, and before that Montignac. I think both were created to loose weight; Keto may be a new improved version of these two.

All these diets - including Keto - are (more or less) about reducing the amount of carbs we eat. Carbs makes us tired, and fat, especially the quick carbs such as potatoes, white rice, white bread, bananas and so on.

That said, Keto seems to be somewhat different; The result - the Ketonic stage - increases our own health to an extend it surpasses all the aforementioned diets. Disclaimer: Still need to do the research though.

Since a few days, I try to eat Keto way. First I thought: "This is gonna be very difficult!"... until I decided to prepare the food I really love, but leave out the none-Keto ingredients.

Today I show you how to prepare one of my favourite vegetable dishes, an old Dutch recipe that I modified to become super simple and quick to prepare. The dish comes with some meat and I usually ate it with mashed potatoes. To be Keto, I simply leave the potatoes, and eat a larger portion of the vegetables. When you like to eat more, start with a homemade soup (without carbs though) and eat some nuts as a desert.

Ingredients

  • Chicory (2 to 3 per person)
  • Cheese (use a bit of soft-ish cheese; I used today Dutch Gouda)
  • Ham (a grilled version I used this time)
  • Bacon
  • Some Butter

How to Prepare

Take of the outer leaves of the chicory and cook them for about 5 minutes. I steamed them the old fashion way by adding only a centimetre of water to the pan; Add a lit to the pan.

In the mean time:

  • Prepare the cheese: slices
  • Butter the oven dish
  • Heat the oven to about 225 degrees

When the chicory is cooked, add them to the oven dish and wrap the ham, bacon and cheese around. The quantities of the meat and cheese is up to you, whatever you like, but don't add too much since you don't want to eat more than the normal amount of calories (men: 2.500/day and women 2.000/day).

As you see, I just covered the top and sides of the chicory, but when you like to make a real nice presentation, first let the chicory cool down a bit and then wrap the ham/bacon around completely.

Then, slide the dish into the oven for about 15 minutes, and voila, ready to eat!

BON APPÉTIT

qsounds music library with more than 300 entries | A...K | L...Z |

steem blockchain curator for @illuminati-inc and @qsounds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70