Love... Children... Love... Hurt... Love... Longing... Love... Emptiness... Love... Cruelty... Love... Life... Love... Death... Love...

in #love7 years ago (edited)

spring-276014_640.jpg

orange line crop.pngorange line crop.png

~~~~~~ The Rowboat Boy ~~~~~~


sailor-504098_1920.jpg


It was a romantic start,

at dawn,

when reality was silhouetted

in colorful morning mist.

The rowboat set off.

I was tiny,

protected by the bamboo baskets,

and the oarsman.

.

tree-985946_640.jpg



I was fed, sheltered, educated, and....



people-2298607_640.png


Sometimes ...



maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Hands-Up-Shadow-Child-Hands-People-Face-Hand-Boy-315909.jpg



And times again....


outdoor-silhouette-person-light-fence-sun-778564-pxhere 3.jpg

I was always alone,

inside and outside....


people-2588660_640.jpg


And he seemed like a mountain away from me...

Always...


father-and-son-2258681_1280.jpg

{ For a very long time, I never knew if he really loved me.}


orange line crop.pngorange line crop.png

~~~~~~ The Sunny Girl ~~~~~~



spring-276014_640.jpg

What better way to start my day ...

than swimming in a sunny spring of joy.

The grass is sweet,

The sun tickles my sleeves.



dancing girl.png
photo credit: Little girl dancing silhouete | designed by Vexels


spring-bird-2295431_640.jpg

The birds are singing,

my lips are dancing....

with this six-year-old darling ....


tree-189852_640.jpg



But wait ...

It shouldn't get dark so soon...

And where's the green green grass ?


girl-1960366_640.png

Can I have this just a lil longer,

please ?

please ?


tree-207584_640.jpg



Right. It's time to go home..

to go home..



north-carolina-956674_640 dark.jpg

contrast-light-from-a-window-1403452722NQL.jpg


Daddy ...

Daddy ...

Daddy ...


man-69287_640.jpg



Maybe Mommy will be home..

Daddy said Mommy will be home when the spring comes.

Mommy will be home when the spring comes,

that's what Daddy said.


Harry_S_Truman_House_-_Independence,_Missouri_-_205311pu.jpg



Time to cook.

Maybe Mommy will be home..

Is it spring yet ?



girl by window.png



Maybe Mommy will be home..



girl-535251_640.jpg

{ Is it spring yet ?}


orange line crop.pngorange line crop.png

~~~~~~ The Cheerful Boy ~~~~~~



maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Musha-Cay-Island-Palm-Trees-Bahamas-Tropical-1209567.jpg


Remeber,

the naughty fragance of frangipan at night,

the popular beauty of royal poinciana in the summer,

and the wild unction,


pexels-photo-248797 (1).jpg



the coconut Palm Tree,

sticky, sweet tamarind,

and the dark purple seagrapes jam.

And, of course, the beaches.

Ah... the Bahamas.

Home.


maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Scenery-Child-A-Village-Road-The-Mother-1505000.jpg



She was the only one there ..

from the time the Behamas first entered my memory,

- a hard-working woman.

"You father died before the ocean got to kiss your silky black skin the first time,"

she told me on a balmy summer night.

No how and why.



small baby.jpg



I was tiny from the start,

the size of a doll,

almost.



people-2572105_640.jpg



I love reading.

On my third birthday,

the other love of my life found its way into my tiny lil world



barbie-1589988_640.jpg



From the moment that lil white girl walked into our church,

I couldn't take my eyes off her.

No, not the white girl,

but the Barbie in her arms.

What heaven if only that Barbie were mine!



small baby run to barbie.jpg



On our way out of the church,

"Take her," said the lil white girl.

"Mommy said she'd buy me another one."



maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com-Sunrise-Water-Nature-Silhouette-Himmel-Boy-Solar-845268.jpg



"Why do you always look so small ?"

asked mother one day.

"Your father was a big man, the man of men."



praying.jpg



On my knees, I was, a few days later,

begging mother to not throw my Barbie away.

But she did.

On my knees, again I was, crying like an August Hurricane, on a cold winter day,

begging her to not give me away...

to a farmer...

on an island far far away.



boyandfarmer.jpg



"You shall be a man,"

said the farmer,

who made me work all day every day,

with little food to eat.



1024px-Woman_farmer_in_Kenya blur.jpg



I was given away to an old woman after getting sick.

I missed mother,

who was too busy to come to get me.

I tried hard to remember her face,

when I'm not coughing up blood.

But it's all a blur now.



lil girk and barbie.jpg


All that I could see from the teeny-penny window of the shed I sleep in...

were that little white girl,

and the Barbie doll she gave me

in the church of God.


orange line crop.pngorange line crop.png

orange line crop.pngorange line crop.png

upcoming.png

steemit epilog.jpg

upvote.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @floating.lotus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @floating.lotus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @floating.lotus! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @floating.lotus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65848.40
ETH 3007.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73