Story Time #1: How I flunked my First day of HS

in #love6 years ago (edited)

First day of High School Part 1

I wasn't the talkative type so it was hard for me when I just started Junior High School. I came from a public school and just enrolled into a private one so I had to adapt to my new environment which I found very hard because I was conscious of my social status. During the first day of class, I was dumbfounded as to how noisy the classroom was unlike when I was in Elementary School wherein it was so quiet that the silence hurts your ears but this time around, it's the noise that does the hurting. It turns out majority of the class already knows each other since they went to the elementary department of the school. In this situation, a person like me who doesn't know how to talk to a stranger is bound to be a loner. I picked an armchair that is unlikely to be spotted by the teacher hoping that I won't be chosen to do a self-introduction since I really don't like speaking in front. After 10 minutes, our adviser finally arrived he looked serious at first but when he introduced himself he actually was a funny and easygoing person to the point that I like him already.
As expected, the self-introduction has started and my plan has already failed. I still don't know even now why he chose to start it off with me. I was so nervous it took me a few seconds to stand up and start talking. The moment I talked, I stuttered and when I tried to talk again, I bit my tongue. The class exploded in laughter and I felt a part of me dying inside. It's over. I'll be the laughing stock of this class. I successfully introduced myself in my third attempt and move on to the person beside me. I did not notice that there was already someone sitting beside me since I was looking down all the time until the self-introductions started. It was a girl. She introduced herself as if she's used to public speaking and her diction was so perfect that I felt so bad at myself for not being as good as her. I've grown conscious of her ever since.

Sort:  

Nice story.
Upvoted and Followed! 😊😊😊

Thank you! Hearing this, I might actually continue this one.

You're very welcome!

The story is very interesting and enjoyable.

I hope everything is much better for you now.

Being new someplace can be very difficult and challenging but you seem very likable so I expect that you did very well and made lots of friends. 😊

Thank you for your reply. 😊

Yes! While it did took a long time for me to be able to make friends, I was happy to make a few and we're still in contact until now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58